SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy
    beley's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    LaGrange, Georgia
    Posts
    6,117
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Horizontal list navigation wtih dropdowns

    Anyone know of a horizontal list navigation with dropdowns (i.e. Suckerfish) that do not require a width on the top level link/list item?

    I've googled and googled and can't find any that have a dropdown and no width (just left and right padding or margin).

    Any help would be really appreciated.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot Shpook's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hollywood, FL, USA
    Posts
    129
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    beley, I've searched Google like I've never searched before to try and find you an answer, and I failed as well.

    I even tried to come up with something myself, based on Suckerfish, and the results were actually amusing. I just don't have the skill level yet.

    If I manage to come across anything, I'll be sure to let you know.
    Life would be so much easier if we
    could just look at the source code.
    -Dave Olson

  3. #3
    padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    4,117
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy
    beley's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    LaGrange, Georgia
    Posts
    6,117
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'll give that a shot markbrown4, thanks for the suggestion.

  5. #5
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,520
    Mentioned
    182 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    HI Brandon,

    I solved this for someone else so there is an example here:

    http://www.pmob.co.uk/temp/dropdown-all-fluid.htm

    It's quite a tricky problem to get right

  6. #6
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's pretty cool, Paul.

    Did you mean to leave the voice-family hack in the IE only stylesheet?

    I don't mean to give you hard time, but Opera 7.5x doesn't display the sub-menus correctly. Also, I think you meant "Mozilla 1.8+", not "Mozilla 1.3+".

    I may as well mention that "NS" is a better abbreviation for Netscape, since the Navigator part of the name was dropped in Netscape 6.
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.

  7. #7
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,520
    Mentioned
    182 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kravvitz
    Did you mean to leave the voice-family hack in the IE only stylesheet?
    Well not really. It was in there for IE5 originally but I gave up with that

    Quote Originally Posted by Kravvitz
    I don't mean to give you hard time, but Opera 7.5x doesn't display the sub-menus correctly. Also, I think you meant "Mozilla 1.8+", not "Mozilla 1.3+".
    No problem - That line was supposed to be changed anyway as I converted this from another menu and forgot to change the text. It should only read ie6 - 7, firefox 2 and opera 9.

    I have updated the page to show this (although if I spent some time on it I could probably get it to work on those browsers but time's a bit limited at the moment )

    I may as well mention that "NS" is a better abbreviation for Netscape
    Showing my age again

  8. #8
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It seems to work in Firefox 1.5?

    I see lots of people still abbreviating it as NN. Old habits die hard. And there is the possibility that not everybody may realize the name change and what each abbreviation is an abbreviation of.
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.

  9. #9
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,520
    Mentioned
    182 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    It seems to work in Firefox 1.5?
    Yes my 1.5 crashed when I installed 2 and I lost all my other versions as well (1.0 upwards). I never got around to installing them again

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot Dogs and things's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    145
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by markbrown4 View Post
    I like this list, but I would like to give each button a fixed width instead of a width determined by the length of the text it contains.

    Is that possible?

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy
    beley's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    LaGrange, Georgia
    Posts
    6,117
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, check out the original Suckerfish:

    http://alistapart.com/articles/dropdowns/

  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot Dogs and things's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    145
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm,

    I managed to set a fixed width for every button in the listamatic horizontal dropdownlist but that fixed width is supported by IE but not by FF.

    Nevertheless, FF supports the dropdowns whereas IE doesnīt support those.

    As Iīm not really knowledgeable I donīt see a way to overcome those incompatibility problems.

    Anyway, the listamatic browser support chart shows the horizontal IE compatibility to be inexistent. How about these crossing incompatibility problems, the browser that doesnīt support the standard features does support my addon and the one that does support the original obnes doesnīt support the addon.

    Which makes me fear that a purely css based horizontal dropdown list is unavailable.

    I guess my best bet would be to focus on the suckerfish and try to style it to my likings.

    If someone has any more ideas to make that horizontal dropdown work as desired, please express your ideas.

    Greetings.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    grand junction
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    www.webdesign-studio.biz
    Quality is our most important porduct


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •