SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Where can I ask this question?

I don't see any forum titled "Questions So Stupid You Should Just Go Away" but I need to find one.

I'm new to webhosting, have managed a PHBbb before and a simple site someone else set up for me, and a couple of Tripod sites, etc. I know enough HTML to code a basic page and am starting to learn CSS. My goal is simplicity and accessibility. (Currently reading Steve Krug's Dont Make Me Think.)

I just signed on with KnownHost.com, which I believe is a good hosting company but my questions are so basic the Support people immediately referred me HERE to SitePoint. He explained that they are administrators, not web designers, so they're already ticked off with me because of the kind of questions I had. My mistake was not realizing just how much I was already expected to know.

Questions:

1. My site online shows the index list. I have uploaded a simple "Coming Soon" html page into the public directory. How do I get that to show up instead of the index? I don't know where to put things.

2. Can you direct me to any true "beginners" forums where I won't waste anyone's time with stuff I'm expected to know about site administration? I want to learn, not have someone do it for me.

3) Is there a sample somewhere of what my directory structure should look like as I add scripts to my site? (classified ads, calendar, etc.) I have the CPanel.

Thanks.

Keep Moving Forward gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm pretty sure all you should need to do is re-name your "Coming Soon" page to "index.html". If you're on a Windows server then you might need to call it "default.html".

Keep Moving Forward gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by morgang