SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Setting up SSI

  1. #1
    What's HTML?
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,701
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Setting up SSI

    I've been reading through the documentation at Apache.org, and from what I gather, "include file" can only be used to load relative documents and "include virtual" can also be used for relative documents but also can be used with the absolute path of the file you want to include. So I set up an include using the virtual attribute and I listed the absolute path of the file I wanted, but I'm still getting a processing error.

    Is there something specific I need to set up on the server or am I missing something?
    Ryan Kuhle - A Proud Advisor - Got Questions? Just Ask!
    Get your website started for less than $20! Click Here

  2. #2
    SitePoint Columnist Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not too hot on SSI, but I'm pretty sure that if you get a [An error has occurred while processing this directive] thing it means SSI is installed and working (otherwise you woulnd't get any error at all). In my experience the best thing to do with SSI is trial and error - stick 5 or 6 different tags on the same page (different as in with different fiel paths and so on) and hopefully one of the 5 will work.

  3. #3
    Victory shall be mine tubedogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Medina, OH
    Posts
    440
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OT: My parents both grew up in DBQ

    Anyway, I've never had any luck using absolute paths with SSI. I've always had to resort to relative.
    Kevin

  4. #4
    What's HTML?
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,701
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But they soon moved out afterwards, right? Smart thinking! I'm out of here as soon as I turn 18 (one more month, yes!)

    Anyway, my SSI still isn't working with absolute paths. I'll have to get on my server guy to figure them out... Learning new things is great, I'm actually having fun messing up my server and fixing it again.
    Ryan Kuhle - A Proud Advisor - Got Questions? Just Ask!
    Get your website started for less than $20! Click Here

  5. #5
    Procrastinator Extraordinaire lucas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Springfield, Missouri, U.S.A.
    Posts
    320
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what kind of server software are you using? a unix based system needs an .htaccess file and a IIS server needs it to be enabled within the control panel.

  6. #6
    What's HTML?
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,701
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm on Red Hat 7.1, running Apache 1.3. I need a .htaccess file to enable it? I thought .htaccess files are just to override any server-wide configurations that you have set, so the given directory can act differently then the majority of the server. If that is the case, then shouldn't I be able to edit something in httpd.conf to have it work the way I want it to, system-wide.

    By the way, SSI is enabled, I'm just having trouble getting them to work with the absolute path instead of the relative path.
    Ryan Kuhle - A Proud Advisor - Got Questions? Just Ask!
    Get your website started for less than $20! Click Here

  7. #7
    Victory shall be mine tubedogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Medina, OH
    Posts
    440
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LOL well they both went to college in Dubuque (no idea why), one to Clark(e?) and the other to U of Iowa. But then they both moved to Chicago, yes.

    Anyway you should not have to use an .htaccess file assuming SSI is enabled system-wide.
    Kevin

  8. #8
    What's HTML?
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,701
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The U. of Iowa is in Iowa City, not Dubuque. You probably meant the U. of Dubuque, yes! we do have that.
    Ryan Kuhle - A Proud Advisor - Got Questions? Just Ask!
    Get your website started for less than $20! Click Here

  9. #9
    Victory shall be mine tubedogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Medina, OH
    Posts
    440
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    mmm actually it was the U of Iowa but he did go in Iowa City. My mistake.
    Kevin


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •