SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    delhi, India
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Problem with Joomlal website

    My joomla website is not opening. Earlier this website got some malicious code which i removed but now it is showing internal server error. Is it some virus or malicious code. What corrective action can i take?

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,117
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Have you spoken to your web host? They may need to get involved with this.
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  3. #3
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by webdesigndelhi View Post
    My joomla website is not opening. Earlier this website got some malicious code which i removed but now it is showing internal server error. Is it some virus or malicious code. What corrective action can i take?
    First thing you need to tell your provider. They will go through the steps to make sure you are in the clear.
    Secondly, you might need to just do a back up repair.

  4. #4
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi.
    To solve this problem,Check your Database. I think,some databases has affected by virus, due to this reason internal server error problems arises.Uploaded the backup of database and rum the websites,it problem has solved after this procedure.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    delhi, India
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for the inputs, i am trying to get in touch with the web host.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard webcosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,480
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, i`m sure your joomla is 1.5x, so there is a fix for that.

    1st. Restore the index.php file that is currently on your website. There’s a good chance that it have been replaced to a hacked one. If you don’t have one backup of your website (big mistake) download a newer version from Joomla and copy the index.php to your website.


    2nd. Fix or replace the /components/com_user/models/reset.phpfile. For fixing is simple:
    After global $mainframe; on line 113 of reset.php, add:
    Code:
    if(strlen($token) != 32) { $this->setError(JText::_('INVALID_TOKEN')); return false;}

    3rd. Ask for another password for your administrator user. For that you just need to write the site url and add this: index.php?option=com_user&view=reset.
    The url will be something like this:http://www.yourdomainname.com/index....ser&view=reset

    Note: before you do this, be sure that you have access as a super administrator of the site, otherwise you might have a bigger headache to take care of.

    Source: mcloide

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Useful discussion about the problem for joomla website..nice

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    delhi, India
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your response webcosmos, i tried the first step and it worked. There was some malicious code in other pages which i removed. The website is not completely restored but soon i should be able to fix it completely.
    Last edited by webdesigndelhi; Mar 14, 2013 at 05:05. Reason: spelling

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Talk your hosting company regarding that. Joomla is the best open source technology.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Oneonta, NY
    Posts
    307
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Webdesign,

    Sometimes an internal server error can be caused by a server configuration file that is not properly setup. If you have a .htaccess or web.config file on the server, save a copy of it and then try deleting it from the server and see if your site loads. Not saying that’s definitely it but its something simple you can try.

    Here is a similar thread on that topic,

    http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/show...sconfiguration

    Best,

    Shawn


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •