Go Back   SitePoint Forums > Forum Index > Manage Your Site > Business and Legal Issues
Newsletter FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New to SitePoint Forums? Register here for free!

SitePoint Sponsor
 
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old Sep 7, 2007, 22:33   #1
nsg1000
SitePoint Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 16
Accusing Me of Unauthorized Use of Trademark - HELP!!

(sorry the title should be Accusing me of Unauthorized Use of Trademark)

Me and my partner were considering opening a skin products website. I searched for a domain name and saw that pureskinstore.com was available, and i registered it. We planned to sell skin products on the site.

That was a month ago. Today I received the following email:

From davis&leonard

On behalf of my cleint Salu, Inc., dba SkinStore I am writing regarding your use of the term "skinstore" in connection with the domain name pureskinstore.com. As the date of the letter the web page located at the domain name states that it will soon offer thousands of skin care products

Please be aware that SKIN STORE and SKINSTORE are registered trademarks of Sali, US REG.... As such, your use of the term "pureskinstore", "skinstore", or confusingly similar terms in connection with skin care related products or services constitutes actionable trademark infringement under 15 U.S.C 1114 unfair competition under California Business and Professions Code 17200, and related causes of action under US and california law

Accordingly, we demand that you immediately cease and desist form any use of the terms "skinstore", "pureskingstore" or any confusingly similar terms and transfer the domain name pureskinstore to us.

We look forward to a amicable resolution to this matter, and reserver the right to seek injunctive relief, damages, and all other available relief if such a resolution is not immediately forthcoming.



I couldn't believe this!! We just registered the domain, and basically said were "coming soon", and we get sent this letter. We had no intention of every infringing or breaking any law. What should I do? Should I just transfer the name to them to avoid the conflict? I just dont feel this is right, we never did anything to copy or infrige upon their copyrights. So far we have only sold one product on ebay!!!

Last edited by nsg1000; Sep 7, 2007 at 23:16. Reason: clarification
nsg1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools
Display Modes

 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Sponsored Links
 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998-2009, SitePoint Pty Ltd. All Rights Reserved