SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Community Advisor silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

why throw an exception?

I suppose this is a mode of thinking question more so than PHP code.. but i have been wondering WHY throw an exception?

I mean since you have to wrap the whole thing in "try" "catch" and then an "if"(or other statement) to define the err and throw the exception.. and it's not like it's thrown / and caught automatically when an err occurs. Why not just use a "if" statement by itself?

I am VERY new at PHP, so my CLASSES and METHODS are still simplistic,maybe this is why I am asking this question, but for the life of me I cannot see a PRACTICAL use to Exceptions.

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It basically moves the "IF" logic from your code into the class.
    Exceptions are supposed to be things that are not supposed to have to be handled by your class.

Ex:
    Say you have a class that loads up some user data from the database, and needs an active db connection.
    You would throw an exception if the connection passed to that class is not active, since the class should not care about handling connections.

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Even without the classes, it moves the error handling logic to the area of the program that knows how to deal with it.

You can have a function that just does whatever it is supposed to do, and if there's an error it throws an exception. The section of code that called the function can then figure out how to deal with the error. In some places an error can be okay and the section of code can continue on, in others it'll log the error and display an error message before aborting.

You used to see things like returning boolean false for an error, but that gets confusing with other functions that should return boolean false as a normal part of execution.

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned