Thread: MySQL errors

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

MySQL errors

Hi:

I'm a newbie to MySQL. Just installed it today and it was setup remotely by my host admin. I've been through the tutorials and documentation from several different sources and can't seem to figure out this problem. I've successfully created a table, did a describe table to check that all feilds are properly named and given the correct data type. I then tried to populate the table using a tab delimited file with the command
    load data local infile "path\filename" into table "tablename" as outlined in the tutorial and received a the following error.
    Error 1045: access denied for user: 'my_user_name.....
    (Using password: yes)

Are their pemissions I must set?
    I saw that I could use comman delimited field data, but does it need to be in quotes?
    If I use the \n to indicate a null feild value, what do I use to indictae the end of a record?
    Do you know of any addidtional resouces or forums for answers to problems like these?

Thanks in advance! Any input would be appreciated.

ThatLouGuy
    Thatlouguy says "This is a dark ride"

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    try removing the password and that should help if not talk to your host admin.
    i love php

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the advice. Unfortunately, I did not understand what you meant about removing the password. I think my problem is in the permissions and I need to set up an .ini file but have not idea how to structure it. Your advice is always welcome!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Wink