SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Interested in knowing more about Facebook

HI, i am new to the concept of facebook though i have registered there. Can anyone tell me how to use it?

SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    59 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    rules for using facebook:

1. facebook is for friends -- for business associates, used linkedin.com instead

2. you don't have to accept friend requests from people you don't know, or from people that you know but couldn't give a rat's patootie about

3. on your news feed (which is what you see on your home page), you can hide the feeds of friends who abuse facebook by automatically posting all their twitter crap

4. facebook applications are, by and large, all crap (except wordscraper) -- if someone sends you a flower, or a gift, or whatever, you don't have to register for that application and send them anything in return (remember, facebook apps can see all your personal information, and who knows what they do with it...)

5. do ~not~ become a fan of anybody or anything, unless you like having this information freely available to non-facebook users

6. join groups and participate to your heart's content, as you will soon discover that the person in squamish bc who shares your love of naked molerats is just as knowledgeable as you are

7. if you can get your family members to join -- especially those in remote locations -- then sharing photos with them is awesome
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @ what r937 said...

facebook is generally for everyone that wants to stay connected with acquaintance, friends, family or whatever...its your choice o accept who you like to be connected to.