SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    drop down menu problem

    Good Day All,

    After creating a workable left navigation bar, with pull-outs and the like, the owner of our company said: "hey, can I have these along the top instead" I figured I could just make a few changes to the code to get the thing to work, but I am not having much success.

    I've tried several online tutorials to try to get this to work, but still, no luck.
    I can't even get the main menu to go inline, let alone get the things to drop down beneath; can anybody offer any insight into this problem, and how it might be resolved.

    Here is a link to the page in question:

    http://www.tkkeithco.com/somerset_bi...x_010507B.html

    I've also attached the css code. Any help is appreciated.

    Regards,
    Jeff

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Get rid of the width for #menuh ul and float #menuh li left
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value.
    Arthur C. Clarke

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: drop down menu problem

    Hi Rob,

    Thanks for the reply; it is appreciated.

    I implemented your suggestions, and while removing the width and inputting the float, the results placed the menu inline in several browsers, but resulted in a non-uniform menu box for all (main menu and drop down), and caused problems in IE 6 by stretching the main menu the length of the background blue. The drop-downs do not appear in IE either.

    Any thoughts on why the above occurred?

    Regards,
    Jeff

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you upload the modified page?
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value.
    Arthur C. Clarke

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    re:drop down menu problem

    Hi Rob,

    All set.

    http://www.tkkeithco.com/somerset_bi...x_010507B.html

    I also noticed, that while Firefox and Opera drop the menu directly below as hoped, Netscape 8.0 drops the first child below, and all the others to the right of that child, which is odd.

    Again, thanks for any assistance and input.

    Regards,
    Jeff

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Add a width to the <a> tags in the list and check that your IE conditional is doing what it should do (I would try removing it to see the effect it has).
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value.
    Arthur C. Clarke

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh dear, my ISP has cached the page and so I am unable to look at you new version. Can you upload it with a different file name?
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value.
    Arthur C. Clarke

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    re:drop down menu problem

    Hi Rob,

    Here you go:

    http://www.tkkeithco.com/somerset_bi...x_010507C.html

    I have not as yet removed the IE condition, but have included the width to the menuh a in the css.

    Regards,
    Jeff

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The IE conditional comes after the link to the stylesheet so you need to remove it to see what effect it has.
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value.
    Arthur C. Clarke

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    re:drop down menu problem

    Hi Rob,

    I've removed the condition from the HTML. The results in IE6 place four of the five menu items on the same line, with the fifth residing beneath the first menu item. None of the sub-menus appear however when one hovers over the main menu items. No changes occur in the other browsers.

    I've uploaded the file:

    http://www.tkkeithco.com/somerset_bi...x_010507C.html

    Regards,
    Jeff

  11. #11
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You will need a bit of javascript for IE.
    Have a look here http://alistapart.com/articles/dropdowns for an example and how to do it...
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value.
    Arthur C. Clarke

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    re:drop down menu problem

    Hi Rob,

    I've incorporated the javasvript from alistapart article and while I now get the sub-menus to appear, they are not dropping straight down but rather the first sub-menu appears directly beneath, and the others push out to the right. This issue also occurs in Netscape 8.0. The drop downs work perfectly and as hoped in Firefox and Opera.

    Any thoughts on why this is happening to IE 6 and Netscape 8?

    the page is: http://www.tkkeithco.com/somerset_bi...x_010507C.html

    For some reason, it is not allowing me to upload the css and js. I receive an error message, with "Invalid file" Odd, because I have uploaded css files in the past. I wonder if they changed the files allowed for upload? I can always cut and paste if that would be of any assistance? Let me know.

    Thanks again for all your help in solving this problem.

    Regards,
    Jeff

  13. #13
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    First validate your page here: http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=ht...x_010507C.html and your css here: http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/v...usermedium=all

    Fix these first and then test
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value.
    Arthur C. Clarke

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    re: drop down menu problem

    Hi Rob,

    I ran the validation after making a couple of adjustments and both the css and the page pass, however, I am still experiencing the issue of the drop downs in IE 6 and Netscape 8 of dropping the first sub-menu directly below the parent, with each additional sub-menu pushing out to the right. Any thoughts?

    Regards,
    Jeff

  15. #15
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have to go to another machine to see the errors and fix them. I will try to get an answer to you by tomorrow, unless anyone else can help you.
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value.
    Arthur C. Clarke

  16. #16
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi jfioravanti
    I've been incredibly busy so haven't had a chance to get round to this until now, sorry. I have a bit of time now. Do you still need help with this?
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value.
    Arthur C. Clarke

  17. #17
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    re: drop down menu problem

    Hi Rob,

    Thanks for keeping touch. Sorry you've been so busy. In the meantime, I have been trying to get this working, but still with little to no success. The owner of our company was asking me the status today.

    Still the same issue; the drop down works correctly in Firefox and Opera, but those darn children in IE6 and Netscape 8 don't wish to behave. In IE6 and Netscape 8 the first child acts correctly, and drops beneath its parent, but each sibling aligns to the right of the first child. Any thoughts?

    We're having server problems here so I can't include the document with the CSS. I understand if you feel it better to wait until the server issue is resolved.

    Any assistance you can render is greatly appreciated.

    Regards,
    Jeff

  18. #18
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Uh, that should read "Thanks for keeping "in" touch."

    Regards,
    Jeff

  19. #19
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,343
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I'm sure I answered this days ago!.

    Code:
    #menuh li li{clear:left}

  20. #20
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I ran out of time again! All praise to the CSS Guru!
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value.
    Arthur C. Clarke

  21. #21
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    re:drop down menu problem

    Good Day Paul & Rob,

    Thank you both for knowledge and of course for all of your assistance. It's working like a charm. I can now move forward with work on the site. Thanks again for your help.

    Regards,
    Jeff


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •