Follow up to the "Will you treat yourself to a LinuXmas this holiday? " thread

#1

Hi there John_Betong,

Further to your thread …

Will you treat yourself to a LinuXmas …

…I have just discovered that I can now access my
Windows 7 OS when using Linux Cinnamon Mint.

Is this behaviour unusual?

coothead

#2

When you say “access” do you mean read and/or write files to the Window’s NTFS file system?

Linux can read and write to quite a few other file systems…

…also Lnux can be installed on different file systems other than their recommended EX4 system.

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/wiki/contents/articles/5375.windows-file-systems.aspx

1 Like
#3

Yes, that would be the technical description. :winky:

When I click “Files” on the menu I see “Devices” which
contains “240 GB Volume” and is my “Windows 7 OS”

coothead

#4

I would be tempted to only read or copy the Windows files because writing or deleting files would mean saving the complete Window’s directory structure. This may work ok but if there is a minute difference in the saved directory structure, Windows could then be corrupt.

I prefer having a common data only partition to transfer files back and forth.

Belt & braces springs to mind :slight_smile:

Edit:
The common data only partition works well when trying and installing another Linux operating system.

[off-topic]
Linux has an excellent file backup system called RSYNC and a simple graphical version called GRSYNC. Google for more details.
[/off-topic]

1 Like
#5

The “Devices” lists all accessible drives connected to your system. An up-arrow at the name show that it’s mounted. Only mounted devices can be accessed. When you insert a USB stick or a DVD, it will show up in that list.

Click the name to mount or show its content, when a USB or DVD is mounted click the up-arrow to unmount and eject safely.

As @John_Betong mentioned, you can both read and write Windows files, but to be safe you should only copy things you want from Windows to your home places before you read or edit anything.

N.B. Changing things in Windows from the outside could corrupt the system if you don’t know exactly what you do and how its meta data could be affected.

Is this behaviour unusual?

It’s the default behaviour. :slight_smile:

2 Likes