CoffeeCup Vs the Rest of the World html editors ! Advice/Recommendations please

Hi
I’m new to html, css and web design. I’m trying to avoid Themed Web-site templates if I can and write all of the code myself where practical.

I’ve just downloaded CoffeeCup, currently $69 for a licence, where its possible to preview a browser window as you are writing the html or css. I’ve also noticed that CoffeeCup offer a 20 percent discount, if you pay in the first 21 days. Before I decide to part with my hard-earned cash, can anyone recommend any other html editors which enable you preview a browser at the same time as editting the code - I think that checking the preview screen at the same time will help me to learn quicker as I go along.

Has anyone any more recommendations on which software tool to start write html and css with please.
Kind Regards
Matt

Hi Matt. It is a very personal thing what editor to use. I prefer to use notepad++ where you can preview in most modern browsers . Others prefer programs like Dreamweaver

You can preview your work in browsers no matter what editor you use. For example, if you are working on a .html page, have it open in your text editor and all your browsers at the same time. Make a few changes to the code, save, then refresh each browser to see the changes. Works for me. :slight_smile:

There are many good and popular free code editors available, and some really nice commercial ones, too. Sublime Text 2 is pretty popular these days.

Hi
But don’t you find it annoying that you have to keep going to the browser and clicking Refresh everytime you change one litte bit of code?