Why do PHP Developers Earn So Little?

I’ve been researching rates on Dice and Monster. It appears PHP developers are being offered roughly 1/2 the hourly and full time rates of Ruby on Rails developers, and roughly 50% less than Java or .Net. PHP developers are even earning less than JavaScript/HTML5 guys these days.

Why is that? I have a few of my own theories but the difference seems to have become a bit extreme in my opinion. Also, if I’m a consulting company and I develop a solution for a business, does this mean my solution should cost 1/2 as much if it is developed in PHP? Or put another way, I can charge 2x if it is developed in RoR?

I have done no research on this, so my answer may be wrong. I think, however, it is due to the fact that a great deal of PHP developers are younger, self taught, work for themselves, have little real world experience, and simply don’t know what the charge, or feel they need to undercut the asp.net firms just to get the deal.

This is, of course, assuming your research is accurate.

For beginner and intermediate PHP developers, the salaries are typically low because the market is saturated and there is a lower bar for entry (meaning, you don’t necessarily need a proper background in software development). You don’t see higher salaries for PHP developers until you get into the more advanced areas of PHP development, which does require quite a bit of education and training.

I would have to ask what the salaries your referring to are and requirements to even comment. A developer of any kind who is just starting off will obviously be paid less than one who has experience. I have never really noticed a significant difference throughout the entire development industry. Than again the last time I searched for a job was about 2 years ago…