SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast tiltawhirl's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question rentacoder.com - guru.com type sites

As a freelancer, I am wondering if others are using these types of sites to obtain clients. What other sites are there like this that you are using. Also any good tips you might have about becoming involved in using these types of sites to secure new projects.

Word Painter silver trophy Shyflower's Avatar
    Mentioned
    142 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I have used rentacoder in the past. Tips:

Don't worry about the competition. If you do quality work, you will find quality clients.

Check the feedback on the 'buyers' before you bid. If they were trouble in the past then they may be trouble for you to work with as well.

Be sure to check the time frames they expect for project completion. I've seen some buyers expect 20 thousand page e-books within 7 days.

Don't be limited in your bid by what they put in their brief. If they say 7 days and you know it will take 2 weeks (or a month, etc.) to complete their project, tell them and explain why.

Be concise in your bid. Tell them exactly what they can expect from you for their money. This helps define the project so that both you and your prospective client are on a level playing field.

Be 'professional' in your response to their RFP. Treat their bid request just as you would treat a request from a client who called you directly on the phone or stopped into your office (if you have one).

Don't do 'mockups' before they put their money on the table. If their request includes sample work, show them samples from your portfolio. I usually include a few samples or links to them whether they ask for them or not.
    Linda Jenkinson
    "Say what you mean. Mean what you say. But don't say it mean." ~Unknown

Night Elf silver trophybronze trophy Varelse's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)