Why does Dreamweaver keep saving _notes in every directory when it's disabled?

I have the option in each of my sites in Dreamweaver 8 to not save Notes and have deleted existing notes but they keep appearing even after I delete them. Does anyone know if this is a bug or how to fix it?

I don;t know if it’s a bug or not but it’s damned annoying! There must have been a reason for keeping design notes but I can’t really see it myself!

other than checking the project settings, I dont know what else you could check but I feel your annoyance!

UH…it drives me nuts. I’ve been using Dreamweaver for over 8 years and I have never once needed to use them. I’ve also worked on several web teams and nobody ever seems to use them.

I’m tempted to write an Applescript to go search for folders named _notes every few hours and delete them.

Not sure if this is what you’re doing already or not, (I don’t use the Design Notes), but give it a try:

  1. Go to ‘Select Site’ -> ‘Manage Sites’ and hit ‘Edit’ on the site in question
  2. Select ‘Design Notes’ on the Category list on the left.
  3. Check/Uncheck the ‘Maintain Design Notes’ checkbox.
  4. Use the ‘Clean Up’ button = to delete any existing design notes.

For more information visit:
http://livedocs.macromedia.com/dreamweaver/8/using/wwhelp/wwhimpl/common/html/wwhelp.htm?context=LiveDocs_Parts&file=05_sit53.htm

Yep, I’ve tried that numerous times but those stinkin’ _notes folders keep appearing.

Hmm… If you’ve tried the above and read the link, I’d make sure your DW has the latest update http://www.adobe.com/support/dreamweaver/downloads_updaters.html.

As a last resort you should contact DW support, there’s something wrong with your software: http://www.adobe.com/support/

The answer can be found here.

Thanks dunnma, welcome to the forums and a good start! :smiley:

Spike