Anyone else receive this email?

I received an email today from a Chinese I.P. consulting firm that claims they are looking out for my domain name. To me, it looks like a scam but I’m wondering if anyone has received something similar? You can read the email below(I changed my actual website name to domainsite).


Dear President&CEO,

We are a professional intellectual property right consultant organization in Asia, who mainly deal with the global domain name registration and internet intellectual property right protection.
Right now we have an important issue to confirm with you. On January .4. 2010, we formally received an application, one company named "Tushuw Technologies Co.Ltd."applied for the Internet keyword “domainsite” and following domain names:
with our organization
During our preliminary investigation, we found that these domain names’ keyword is identical with your trademark. I wonder whether you consigned Tushuw company to register these domain names with us? Or is Tushuw company your business partner or distributor in Asia? If you have no relationship with this company, we assume that they have other purposes to obtain these domain names.
Currently, we have already postponed this company’s application temporarily. Therefore please let the relevant person make a confirmation with me by telephone or email as soon as possible.

Thanks & Regards,

Mike Chen

No Leo, i have never received an email like that…looks pretty weird too! I would just ignore it.

Its a common scam - think it through: Someone gets a legitimate request for a domain name, but instead of servicing it they use it to trick them out of their domain. Do you have a trademark on domainsite? No.

HTH, Jochen

Yup, it’s a scam. I read about them occasionally on blogs. One guy got six or so of nearly the same email, it was kind of ridiculous. Wish I could remember who posted that one though, if I remember correctly he wrote a fake email response and it was quite funny.

Sorry to hear you’re getting spammed too. It can be kind of unnerving when you’re not sure what’s going on.

Hey Leo C, I received an e-mail very very similar awhile back, but it was much more personalized. I wasn’t sure if it was spam or what due to it being personalized.

The company was wanting to register my company name but with all the other dot extensions (.net, .ca, .org etc…) If I recall someone from my legal department actually did respond within a few days basically saying it was not alright to register the domains and whatnot and that our name is trademarked. It sounds like their just doing their due diligence with domain names.

If Chinese IP is where you registered your domain then it isn’t a scam. I once received an email like this from my domain registrar and ask me to log in to my account and lock all my domains

I get these mails all the time, they just want you to register domains through their site, there’s no actual competitor about to snap up your name.

wow, i can’t people will go to those extremes just to make a quick buck. that’s pitiful!

I figured it was a scam email. But at first its a bit unnerving to think that perhaps you’re using another companies trademark.

Yeah, they just want you to register your domain with them. just jokers. delete them