A new annual web design award, the McFarlane Prize, has been created to recognize excellence in Australian web design.

Named in memory of noted Australian web pioneer Nigel McFarlane, the inaugural McFarlane Prize, aims to recognize and encourage excellence in web design by Australian developers.

The Prize also aims to be a showcase of the best in Australian web design, and to inspire other Australian developers in their own endeavours.

A jury of specialists in design, usability, accessibility and coding will be tasked with the responsibility of choosing a winner, to be announced at this year’s Web Directions conference in Sydney in September.

Nigel McFarlane was the technical editor on SitePoint’s Firefox book, and was well known and liked by the SitePoint crew. Personally, I credit Nigel for getting me excited about web technology after seeing him present at a Web Standards Group meeting a couple of years ago, and I can’t think of a more fitting way for him to be remembered.

So, if you’re an Aussie and you’re proud of a recent (re)design that you were involved in between August 1st 2005 and July of this year, submit your site and you could win some cool prizes and recognition for your work!

Matthew Magain is a UX designer with over 15 years of experience creating exceptional digital experiences for companies such as IBM, Australia Post, and sitepoint.com. He is the co-founder of UX Mastery, and recently co-authored Everyday UX, an inspiring collection of interviews with some of the best UX Designers in the world.
  • TexasRanger

    This is a great idea and a noble endeavor. I have a few Aussie friends who are web designers. I just finished e-mail them with the link (although it may be too late now). Any suggestions for good web design / development award programs here in the U.S. Thanks.

Ending Soon
Free SitePoint Premium

Get one free year of unlimited book and course downloads on SitePoint Premium!