Developing a Virtual Team

One thing I have been able to do well over the last few years is develop a virtual team from the ground up. I started my business a few years ago with just my wife and I, and slowly we have grown.

I started out learning “a little bit about a lot of things”. My skill set includes html, php, flash, photoshop, seo, dreamweaver, javascript, and much more. However, I can’t say I am an expert in any of these areas. I was able get jobs with smaller customers, and also did some volunteer work. Then I started to attract some larger clients where I just couldn’t do it all myself.

I started out hiring a few freelancers. Early on I have to say I was not very good at this. I encountered a couple of dishonest people, as many more that were not mature enough to organize their work. I literally worked with dozens of people. There were some that were super talented but too busy for me. Others may have found other work, because I wasn’t a very good project manager in the beginning.

Over time I got better at working with people. I learned how to resell their work. I could come up with an idea for just about anyone once I learned their skills. When a customer came along that needed something, I knew where to find help. Most of this I did informally at first, matching a customer with a person who could do the job. I can’t say it was perfect, but it worked. For example, sometimes I would have a programmer doing design work in addition to the programming for a customer, and that wouldn’t go so well.

I learned to organize tasks better into their component parts. I would use a programmer for part of the task, and a designer for another part. I got bigger jobs, and even started to sell my own software (phpLD). That really took off, and I attracted more talented people.