Go Back   SitePoint Forums > Forum Index > Community Center > General Chat
Newsletter FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New to SitePoint Forums? Register here for free!

SitePoint Sponsor
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 17, 2004, 12:51   #1
johnny190
SitePoint Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: space
Posts: 887
Spam mail from email addresses that look to be from my site?

Hi,

For some reason I keep getting spam mail from various e-mail addresses that look to originate from my site.

For example,

I've received numerous from administration@mysite.com, management@mysite.com, etc. etc. But the problem is, I'm not the one who is sending these emails out! The emails contain attachments which are virus infected.

Here is what the emails looks like:

Quote:
Warning: This message has had one or more attachments removedWarning: (Readme.pif).Warning: Please read the "VirusWarning.txt" attachment(s) for more information.Dear user of Mysite.com gateway e-mail server,We warn you about some attacks on your e-mail account. Your computer maycontain viruses, in order to keep your computer and e-mail account safe,please, follow the instructions.Pay attention on attached file.Sincerely, The MySite.com team http://www.mysite.com

Plain Text Attachment [ Download File | Save to my Yahoo! Briefcase ]
This is a message from the MailScanner E-Mail Virus Protection Service----------------------------------------------------------------------The original e-mail attachment "Readme.pif"is on the list of unacceptable attachments for this site and has beenreplaced by this warning message.If you wish to receive a copy of the original attachment, pleasecontact the Thinkhost Support Team and include the whole of this messagein your request. You can do this by simply opening a ticket at:http://www.thinkhost.com/services/ticket/newticket.shtmlAt Wed Mar 17 09:34:40 2004 the virus scanner said: Shortcuts to MS-Dos programs are very dangerous in email (Readme.pif)Note to Help Desk: Look on the MailScanner in /var/spool/MailScanner/quarantine/20040317 (message i2HEYXbD054146).-- PostmasterMailscanner thanks transtec Computers for their support
Whoever this is theyre sending the email out to a number of people...making it look to be from my site, because I've noticed in my weblogs that some traffic is originating from yahoo mail and other providers.

Please tell me what I can do about this...as I do not want to get shut down by my host for this...because I am not the one responsible for this.

Thank you.
johnny190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2004, 12:54   #2
PC_Freak
SitePoint Zealot
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 155
I get mails seeming to be from my own sites to, and it is just a virus that takes all the hosts out of the addressbook and sends emails from them.

I don't think you can do mucht against this...
PC_Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2004, 13:27   #3
SJH
SitePoint Wizard
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 2,196
There's nothing you can do about it I don't think.

It's not actually being sent from your site...the spammers are just making it look like it is.

Your host won't shut you down for it anyway...you'll be able to prove that the e-mail didn't originate from their server(s) because of header information etc.

-Sam
SJH is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools
Display Modes

 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Sponsored Links
 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998-2009, SitePoint Pty Ltd. All Rights Reserved