SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 76 to 87 of 87
  1. #76
    runat="server" Golgotha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,085
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm missing the point...You just stated my point...it's a good tool for the right job...Just like most tools...use them properly and things work, use them improperly and you get bad results....what I have always said.

    I need to get back to work....later guys

  2. #77
    SitePoint Wizard geiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    2,459
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Microsoft Windows runs with Internet Explorer.
    Microsoft.com runs on ASP.
    PHP.net runs on PHP.

    And we're first complaining now??

  3. #78
    32,817 silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,116
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Where did that come from?
    Digital Hitman, netmobs
    Personal blog: Ensight
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  4. #79
    gingham dress, army boots... silver trophy redux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Salford / Manchester / UK
    Posts
    4,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by geiger
    Microsoft Windows runs with Internet Explorer.
    Microsoft.com runs on ASP.
    PHP.net runs on PHP.

    And we're first complaining now??
    a weak comparison, in my opinion...both ASP and PHP are set to output html which can be accessed with any web browser. macromedia opted to use its own product to create a site that only displays with their own player plugin...
    re·dux (adj.): brought back; returned. used postpositively
    [latin : re-, re- + dux, leader; see duke.]
    WaSP Accessibility Task Force Member
    splintered.co.uk | photographia.co.uk | redux.deviantart.com

  5. #80
    SitePoint Wizard geiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    2,459
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't think it's a weak comparison at all. Of course they still output HTML, but the point still stands. Companies use their own products for marketing purposes. I'm sure other technologies including JSP could have been considered (esp for Microsoft) but ASP was used because that's their creation. No, it doesn't make much of a difference to the web browser, but that's the way the world spins. Companies use their products.

    If it's a problem when Macromedia does it, then I just have to cough *double standard!*

    I'm sure you'd do the same thing

  6. #81
    Sidewalking anode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, US
    Posts
    2,205
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    By that logic, Macromedia should run the website on ColdFusion and use Flash for interactive applications on it.
    TuitionFree — a free library for the self-taught
    Anode Says...Blogging For Your Pleasure

  7. #82
    SitePoint Wizard geiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    2,459
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not saying it should be done. Just saying that it is. I, personally, have no administrative position at Macromedia so I doubt they'd listen to me even if my logic was quite accurate

    Anywho, I don't mean to start more controversy. Just presenting a new viewpoint for brain food.

  8. #83
    SitePoint Wizard geiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    2,459
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah, and so you know...
    http://www.macromedia.com/cfusion/gpr/index.cfm

    Looks like a CFM to me. There's mostly directory links @ the site so it's hard to tell what is what. They definitely use HTML and CGI as well, but they use ColdFusion as well.

  9. #84
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    scarborough
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There may be a html version but you still need flash to log in to the forums.

  10. #85
    VICTORY IS MINE! luchazard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    229
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i agree, flash rules!

  11. #86
    SitePoint Enthusiast Novapages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Geof Harries
    Well it looks like they have finally done it. Macromedia has launched their new site http://www.macromedia.com/ with some of the forums, Exchange, and a bunch of other sections all in Flash. Very cool. Nothing like putting your money where your mouth is!

    geof
    I hated it! They don't seem to realize that not everyone wants to download flash and reboot etc. just to reach certain areas of their site. How annoying is that. Flashsite rule #1 -- make an accessible HTML version!

    Oh, and its not just downloading flash. Many of us have a flash plugin. But you've gotta download the newest one. Granted its a short download, its the reboot that bugged me.

  12. #87
    Drupaler bronze trophy greg.harvey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    *yawn*

    Flash is great for some things and crap for others. This is an old argument. No one will change their position.

    G

    Ps -- got my new laptop with XP Home on it. The bundled Flash wasn't the very latest plugin. And I mean the VERY latest! Couldn't get on to the MM site. Now that's stupid, Macromedia. In anyone's book, that's stupid.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •