SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    N.Ireland
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    show top of page on load... (pagination)

    I'm using a jquery paginate method

    Code:
    $(document).ready(function(){  
      
        var show_per_page = 4;  
        var number_of_items = $('#paginate-content').children().size();  
        var number_of_pages = Math.ceil(number_of_items/show_per_page);  
      
        $('#current_page').val(0);  
        $('#show_per_page').val(show_per_page);  
        
        var navigation_html = '<a id="previous_link" href="javascript:previous();">Prev</a>';  
        var current_link = 0;  
        while(number_of_pages > current_link){  
            navigation_html += '<a class="page_link" href="javascript:go_to_page(' + current_link +')" longdesc="' + current_link +'">'+ (current_link + 1) +'</a>';  
            current_link++;  
        }  
        navigation_html += '<a class="next_link" href="javascript:next();">Next</a>';  
      
        $('#page_navigation').html(navigation_html);  
      
        $('#page_navigation .page_link:first').addClass('active_page');  
      
        $('#paginate-content').children().css('display', 'none');  
      
        $('#paginate-content').children().slice(0, show_per_page).css('display', 'block');  
      
    });  
      
    function previous(){  
      
        new_page = parseInt($('#current_page').val()) - 1;  
        if($('.active_page').prev('.page_link').length==true){  
            go_to_page(new_page);  
        }  
      
    }  
      
    function next(){  
        new_page = parseInt($('#current_page').val()) + 1;  
        if($('.active_page').next('.page_link').length==true){  
            go_to_page(new_page);  
        }  
      
    }  
    function go_to_page(page_num){  
        var show_per_page = parseInt($('#show_per_page').val());  
      
        start_from = page_num * show_per_page;  
      
        end_on = start_from + show_per_page;  
      
        $('#paginate-content').children().css('display', 'none').slice(start_from, end_on).css('display', 'block');  
      
           $('.page_link[longdesc=' + page_num +']').addClass('active_page').siblings('.active_page').removeClass('active_page');  
      
        $('#current_page').val(page_num);  
    }
    Could I add a line so that the page opens at the top instead of the current scroll level which is near the bottom.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru Vincent Puglia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    where the World once stood
    Posts
    700
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you could always use an anchor:
    <a id="top">some header or not</a>
    entire page
    <a href="#top">Go to top</a>

    you'd have to fire the href onload
    Where the World Once Stood
    the blades of grass
    cut me still

  3. #3
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,312
    Mentioned
    178 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by stephen_ View Post
    I'm using a jquery paginate method ...

    Could I add a line so that the page opens at the top instead of the current scroll level which is near the bottom.
    Try this just after $(document).ready(function(){

    Code JavaScript:
    setTimeout(function() { $(window).scrollTop(0); }, 150);

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    N.Ireland
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for this (@pullo think i have a conflict with other scripts on page but it looks a good option). I'll try and debug (http://www.cypsp.org/news-events.htm)

  5. #5
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,312
    Mentioned
    178 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I just had a look at your page.
    All you need to do is add this line:

    Code JavaScript:
    $(window).scrollTop(0);

    to the bottom of your go_to_page function.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    N.Ireland
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PULLO DAVE----- MUCHO MUCHO thanks.... please tell me your also a PHP expert..... : )

  7. #7
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,312
    Mentioned
    178 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Sorry, I'm not.
    The PHP forum has lots of these though.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •