SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot thespian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    186
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Resizing a browser window

    Can someone please tell me how to resize a browser window so that it will always "Maximize" regardles of screen resolution.

    Much obliged.
    Bill Conté [Protected by Psalm 91]
    Web Mechanix
    Growing OLD is Mandatory - Growing UP is Optional!

  2. #2
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  3. #3
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I'd find that very annoying. Is there any particular reason you need this to happen? Just curious, as I'm sure there's a better way around your issue than maximizing the browser window.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot thespian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    186
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia
    I'd find that very annoying. Is there any particular reason you need this to happen? Just curious, as I'm sure there's a better way around your issue than maximizing the browser window.
    I am sure there must be another way - I suppose at present I am just still a little limited in my J/Script knowledge.

    In this specific instance, for graphic appearance reasons, I have a website which is a fixed width (750 pixels) which will center in a browser window. I also have a script for a drop down menu that requires a positioning parameter (ie. top left x-y coordinates). obviously these values will differ with different screen resolutions.

    Since I am able to determine the screen resolution I can set this parameter dependant on the screen resolution. What I am unable to do (lack of knowledge) is determine the width of the browser window. Therefore, my solution is to maximize the browser window - in which case the browser window and the screen resolution are the same.

    If you have any other suggestions I will gratefully accept them. Should you wish to see what I am talking about - I have a mock-up of the basic design at http://develop.taly.co.za/default.html (will only be there for the next two weeks or so)

    Many thanx to you for your interest and to beetle for that link.
    Bill Conté [Protected by Psalm 91]
    Web Mechanix
    Growing OLD is Mandatory - Growing UP is Optional!

  5. #5
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There most certainly is a better way
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot thespian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    186
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by beetle
    There most certainly is a better way
    Beetle, Once again thanx for your response.

    The script I am using for the drop-down menus (sourced from Dynamic Drive) is rather complicated and I have not tried to disect it since my J/Script knowledge is still rather basic. I am not sure exactly how they set the positioning in the script itself.

    I have attempted to encapsulate the script within a <div> tag using Relative positioning but this did not help. I wish I had the time to study the script in more detail and try to fathom how they do their positioning, but my workload does not allow me to do so at present.

    I hear your point though and will need to find a better (design) solution to the problem. I do not want to alientate any of the visitors to my client's web site.

    Thanx for your input - it look like it's back to the drawing board for me!

    Added later .....

    Beetle, if you can tell me of a way to automatically reload the page when the browser window is resized, I may have a better solution!
    Last edited by thespian; Mar 1, 2003 at 00:08.
    Bill Conté [Protected by Psalm 91]
    Web Mechanix
    Growing OLD is Mandatory - Growing UP is Optional!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •