SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: window problem

  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,096
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post window problem

    Hi, I need some help regarding on my page,how can i make my page when i will refresh or ctrl+F5 i want that my vertical scroll bar from the window will be on top so that the middle part of my page will not be seen.because i want by default the scroll bar will always on the top.

    Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,890
    Mentioned
    211 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Hi jemz,

    I was actually surprised at how difficult this was to achieve in a cross-browser compatible way.
    The secret was to wrap the call to scrollTop() in a setTimeout(), so that the browser has time to position itself before you reset the scroll position.

    Here's the code:

    HTML Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML>
    <html>
      <head>
        <!-- [url]http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/showthread.php?977666-window-problem[/url] -->
        <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
        <title>Set scrollTop</title>
        <script src="http://code.jquery.com/jquery-latest.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
        <style>#main{ background:green; height:3000px; width:500px; }</style>
      </head>
      
      <body>
        <div id="main">
        <h1>Test Div</h1>
        </div>
        <p>Test Paragraph</p>
        <script>
          $(document).ready(function() {
            setTimeout(function() { $("html, body").scrollTop(0); }, 150);
          });
        </script>
      </body>
    </html>

  3. #3
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,789
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You should be able to do it without needing JQuery using the following JavaScript:

    Code:
    setTimeout(function() {window.scrollTo(0,0);},150);
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  4. #4
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,890
    Mentioned
    211 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by felgall View Post
    You should be able to do it without needing JQuery
    Yup, fair point!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,096
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you felgal

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,096
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you pullo


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •