SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    overwrite index.php. HELP (apache)

    i accidently overwrite index.php file in my public_html folder. is there any way to recover it?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophy
    Rubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, England
    Posts
    2,435
    Mentioned
    82 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    You could ask your hosts if they can install a backup - if they have one.

    Don't you have a backup somewhere?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rubble View Post
    You could ask your hosts if they can install a backup - if they have one.

    Don't you have a backup somewhere?
    how to ask for backpup? through e-mail or somethin'? unfortunately i didn't have backup for the file..

  4. #4
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophy
    Rubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, England
    Posts
    2,435
    Mentioned
    82 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    You will have to open a support request/ticket with the hosts. They may want to do a full backup - it depends how helpful they are - and it could take a few hours for them to do it.

    Make sure you always have a backup.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rubble View Post
    You will have to open a support request/ticket with the hosts. They may want to do a full backup - it depends how helpful they are - and it could take a few hours for them to do it.

    Make sure you always have a backup.
    can't i just make a new one and copy the content from other's?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophy
    Rubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, England
    Posts
    2,435
    Mentioned
    82 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    can't i just make a new one and copy the content from other's?
    What does this mean - what others?

    If you have another file that is similar to index.php of course you can copy - modify it and save as index.php Then upload it.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rubble View Post
    What does this mean - what others?

    If you have another file that is similar to index.php of course you can copy - modify it and save as index.php Then upload it.
    i mean index.php content from other pc..can i do so?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophy
    Rubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, England
    Posts
    2,435
    Mentioned
    82 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    If you have another copy of index.php on another PC - yes you can upload it onto the server.

    If it needs altering a bit make the alterations and then upload it. It does not matter where the file comes from. I write my websites on my PC and upload them to the server.

    Thinking about it things may be different if using something like wordpress?

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i've reinstalled my apache and it work just fine.please close this thread as it is solved already.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •