SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

View Poll Results: What should I do??

Voters
15. You may not vote on this poll
  • Since you don't have any MSSQL experence. Don't waste your money. Try MySQL instead.

11 73.33%
  • MSSQL is pretty stright forward, I recommend you still buy it, even if you have no experence with it.

0 0%
  • WHAT??? MSSQL on your personal computer?? Were you droped as a child? MSSQL is only for large companies.

4 26.67%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Talking At Edge of cliff, need a push!

OK. I think I have decided just to quite whining and go ahead and purchase MSSQL, for $500.00. I leave the licensing up to the people who use my stuff. Most likey if they have a web site, they will either already have a license, or be abl to get one from their ISP/WPP.

Just need a little encourgement though. I've never used MSSQL before. Would you recommend me going out and spending the $500.00 on it if I've never used it? If the SQL environment is fairly stright forward, I'm sure I can find code examples all other the place.

Am I just crazy or are there other crazy people out there too? I mean... I am basically getting this for my personal use right now. I am in the process of starting a web business, I would like to create that message board script (similar to this one) for my first project, but I can't because I don't have a powerfull backend yet. Does anyone else own MSSQL on their personal computer??? Or do you just have it for work reasons, on a computer at work.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't because I don't have a powerfull backend yet
    You could use Access or MySQL for development, you might want to save your $500 untill you're script is nearly finished.

ALT.NET - because we need it silver trophybronze trophy dhtmlgod's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why not use MSDE?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)