SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not sure if this is the best place to post this question, but since Java is mentioned in the description...

    I am attempting to learn Java through a Sam's 'Teach Yourself in 21 Days' book. Day1 they have download the latest JDK from Sun (which is 1.3). Test my computer at the DOS prompt to make sure it is installed correctly. It seems to be configured correctly.

    The first program they have me do is 'Hello World' and then compile it. This is where I run into the problem. DOS keeps returning a 'bad command or file' error at the javac command prompt. I double-checked my JDK directory to confirm that I have the javac.exe file.

    Please help!
    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    On some harddisk
    Posts
    599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think the below will solve it:

    Look in your autoexec.bat/config.sys file. There should be a line pointing to your JDK folder. Check if the path is correct. Also make sure the path with the 'bin' word is correct.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the reply.

    I am a bit illeterate when it comes to DOS. How do I check those files?

    Thanks again.
    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist Caesar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    On some harddisk
    Posts
    599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can check those files in Windows too !
    Just use your notepad or wordpad to open it up and edit !

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru Vincent Puglia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    where the World once stood
    Posts
    700
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    The path command is found in the autoexec.bat file (in your root directory "C:\"). You can peek at by going into DOS and typing the following command: "type c:\autoexec.bat"
    The line you need should look something like: "path c:\;c:\windows;...etc...c:\.....jdk___\bin" where "jdk___\bin" is the directory that you installed the jdk.
    If it isn't there, you need to use notepad or some other text editor to edit the path line so that the jdk path is included. If you use Word or some other editor, make sure you save the file as a text, not word processor, file. Make a copy of your autoexec.bat file before you try it, just to be safe.

    Vinny
    Where the World Once Stood
    the blades of grass
    cut me still

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I really appreciate the help thus far, but i don't want to screw up my autoexec file since I know little about this area. I opened the autoexec.bat file with Notepad and I pasteing a copy here -
    Code:
    C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE\VIRUSS~1\SCANPM.EXE C:\ /NOEXPIRE
    @IF ERRORLEVEL 1 PAUSE
    @ECHO OFF
    SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1
    \CPQS\TOOLS\DNY E:
    IF ERRORLEVEL 1 GOTO SKIPE
    IF EXIST E:\MFG00.BAT CALL E:\MFG00.BAT
    IF EXIST E:\MFG00.BAT DEL E:\MFG00.BAT
    IF EXIST E:\CONFIG.BAT E:\CONFIG.BAT
    :SKIPE
    \CPQS\TOOLS\DNY D:
    IF ERRORLEVEL 1 GOTO SKIPED
    IF EXIST D:\MFG00.BAT CALL D:\MFG00.BAT
    IF EXIST D:\MFG00.BAT DEL D:\MFG00.BAT
    IF EXIST D:\CONFIG.BAT D:\CONFIG.BAT
    :SKIPED
    \CPQS\TOOLS\CPQSLOG D:>>\CPQS\BACKWEB\USERPROF.DAT
    :XIT
    @REM Next 3 Lines are Only Required for 1 Boot but are OK to leave permanently
    @REM Next Line added by Compaq Service Connection Install - Please do not Remove
    @REM Next 3 Lines are Only Required for 1 Boot but are OK to leave permanently
    ECHO bw_workgroup=,"Service Connection">>%DSHD%\CPQS\BACKWEB\USERPROF.DAT
    IF EXIST \PIPOST.BAT CALL \PIPOST.BAT
    IF EXIST \PIPOST.BAT DEL  \PIPOST.BAT
    \CPQS\TOOLS\MINIFER2.EXE CREV=,200 LANG=,"EN"
    IF EXIST D:\PATCHES\PATCHES.BAT CALL D:\PATCHES\PATCHES.BAT
    IF EXIST D:\SEHCTAP\NUL REN D:\SEHCTAP PATCHES
    PATH=%PATH%;"C:\Program Files\Mts"
    MSCDEX /D:MSCD001 /V
    The path on my hardrive to the JDK is - C:\jdk1.3 The path to the Javac program is C:\jdk1.3\bin\javac.exe

    Thanks ever so much,
    Westmich

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru Vincent Puglia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    where the World once stood
    Posts
    700
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    Verrrrry interesting -- I don't see a path command anywhere -- except for the end
    PATH=%PATH%;"C:\Program Files\Mts"
    and the %PATH%; says to append what follows to the original path. So my guess is your main path is somewhere else. Which means you should be able to modify the above line to read:

    PATH=%PATH%;c:\jdk1.3;"C:\Program Files\Mts"

    of course you can also change your jdk.bat/pif file (the one that executes the development kit by adding path=c:\jdk1.3 at the top of the file.

    Hope this helps
    Vinny

    Where the World Once Stood
    the blades of grass
    cut me still

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That doesn't seem to work either. But, no problem. When I need to compile, I change the directory to where my source code is and then type in the full path.

    Westmich
    Smart Web Solutions for Smart Clients
    http://www.mindscapecreative.com

  9. #9
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Indeed, Vincent was on the right track. The line should point to the 'bin' directory, however:

    PATH=%PATH%;c:\jdk1.3\bin;"C:\Program Files\Mts"

    Also be aware that you'll have to reboot before changes to your AUTOEXEC.BAT take effect.
    Kevin Yank
    CTO, sitepoint.com
    I wrote: Simply JavaScript | BYO PHP/MySQL | Tech Times | Editize
    Baby’s got back—a hard back, that is: The Ultimate CSS Reference

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard westmich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muskegon, MI
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bingo! That did the trick. I changed the line before, but didn't realize I needed to reboot.

    Thanks again,
    Westmich


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •