SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot dkilburn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Inyokern, CA
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've got a site that has a theme and shared borders applied. When I try to publish through fp2000 I always have a problem, so I just use WSFTP to upload and make sure I send all of the files in the vti folders. Today, I went to download the entire site to another computer (from the web host),also with fp2000 installed. I copied the entire web with wsftp pro to the new computer. When I brought up the pages to edit, the shared borders were not there. I turned on the borders in the settings, but it did not bring up
    the ones I had created, only new, template ones.

    In need to be able to edit and upload from both computers. Help!!
    Debby Kilburn
    "With computers, everything is possible, but nothing is easy"
    AIM: fourhweb

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    FP2000 has actually very good sharing tools like all other Office products. I'd just recommend you IF you use borders and bots, that you upload with FP2000 tool to upload.

    I wouldn't recommend you shared borders and bots because SSI is better than shared borders and CGI, PHP and ASP scriots are better than WebBots.

    Christophe

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot dkilburn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Inyokern, CA
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When I go to upload with the publish feature, the program seems to hang up. It takes forever to upload even a single change on one page. I am not familiar enough with FP to know if I am doing something wrong, but I do make sure to check the option to upload changed pages only.

    At this point I don't have the programming background to do SSI or some of the other things you mentioned. When I ftp the pages up from home they work fine; the problem was trying to download the site to another computer and edit from there. The pages showed up on the new computer, but not the shared borders. I made sure to ftp the entire site from the server. When an editied page is uploaded from that computer, the shared borders don't show either.

    I personally would rather dump the whole program, but the client likes it and wants to be able to easily edit links and stuff like that. He is pretty html-illiterate however, so I have to make is simple.
    Debby Kilburn
    "With computers, everything is possible, but nothing is easy"
    AIM: fourhweb

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru CJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mechelen, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    SSI is one of the most simple things on earth.. check out http://freesources.net/authoring/ssi for more info.

    Christophe

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK ... you say that you have problems with:

    Problem:

    Losing shared borders when you download the site and install it on another computer.

    Possible Solution:

    Don't donwload the files... instead open a "Web" in the new computer, type in http://www.yourdomain.com in the file name field. This will open a connection to the server itself so that when you make changes, they will be made right at the server and not at the local level. Hopefully you haven't overwritten the original files that were working ok.



    Problem:

    When publishing to a remote host, FP2000 Hangs.

    Possible solution:

    Ctrl-Alt-Del (ONCE) and close applications not needed. Then try to publish. If does not work then see the solution above (be CAREFUL when making changes live on the server as there's less room for error).



    Good Luck!

  6. #6
    AdSpeed.com Son Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've been screwed up once because of mixing FTP + FrontPage, very deadly!!!
    So my suggestion is separating FTP & FrontPage, you could mix them like this though: edit in FP, but don't use any FP features, and upload by FTP. Much safer!
    - Son Nguyen
    AdSpeed.com - Ad Serving and Ad Management Made Easy

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot dkilburn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Inyokern, CA
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Freesources...thanks for the nice ssi tutorial. I actually got it to work on a test page!

    One question. I am wondering why there shows 2 sets of body tags and 2 sets of html tages. Do I need to leave something out of the toptest page? My page code when view is:

    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE>SSI Test Page</TITLE>
    </HEAD>
    <BODY bgcolor="blue">

    <TABLE border="1">
    <TR>
    <TD>
    <HTML>

    <BODY>

    <H1>This is the Top Test Page </H1>
    </BODY>
    </HTML>
    </TD></TR></TABLE>
    </HR>
    If there is a line of text above this, the SSI test worked!
    </BODY>
    </HTML>

    The file toptest.htm code is:
    <HTML>
    <BODY>
    <H1>This is the Top Test Page </H1>
    </BODY>
    </HTML>

    and the file bottomtest.shtml is:

    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE>SSI Test Page</TITLE>
    </HEAD>
    <BODY bgcolor="blue">
    <TABLE border="1">
    <TR>
    <TD>
    <!--#include virtual="toptest.html"-->
    </TD></TR></TABLE>
    </HR>
    If there is a line of text above this, the SSI test worked!
    </BODY>
    </HTML>

    The pages are at http://www.goatweb.com/ssi/

    Thanks for the input!

    Debby Kilburn
    "With computers, everything is possible, but nothing is easy"
    AIM: fourhweb

  8. #8
    Idea Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Bethlehem, PA
    Posts
    521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should undo update only updated files, which could cause an error.
    Professional PHP programing / Hosting
    aim: downtoi3iz icq: 74637813


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •