SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 125
  1. #76
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pullo
    I am running 64 bit and Ralph I have tried Miro

  2. #77
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Ok.

    What I could offer you, would be to walk you through converting the video using GSpot and HandBrake.
    I could take a series of screen shots and upload them to my website, so you can follow the steps and see if there are any discrepancies between what I am doing and what you are doing.
    Would this be something you are interested in?

    BTW, I have only recently installed Win8 64-bit. I haven't added any codec packs or anything, so it must be something simple.

  3. #78
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sure that sound like a plan Please post the url of your site

  4. #79
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Ok.

    Let's start with the video.
    I have downloaded it from here: http://www.theimagineershome.com/blo...darkmatter.mp4
    It is 60.2 MB in size

    Now, download GSpot from here: http://www.headbands.com/gspot/v26x/GSpot270a.zip
    Unzip it to your desktop.
    Double click on GSpot.exe so that the GUI opens and drag 7_darkmatter.mp4 on to it

    You should see this.

    Notice that the codec is "MPEG-4 Video", which you can see in the top right hand corner.

    So far, so good?

  5. #80
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes that is what I am seeing

  6. #81
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Excellent. That's a good start.

    I'm afraid I'm away from the PC for a few hours now, but I'll detail the further steps with screenshots and post back here this evening.

  7. #82
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We want you to know how much we appreciate the time and effort you are putting in on our behalf already and a few more hours it working out our issues is not and issue

    Thankyou again

    Jeff

  8. #83
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pullo View Post
    (I also had to rename the file from .m4v to .mp4)
    I think we may have found one of the reason why we are receiving that error. When we convert the file using Handbrake to H.264/MPEG-4 AVC it changes the file extension to .m4v as you mentioned in an earlier post (I also had to rename the file from .m4v to .mp4) When we manually change it to .mp4 as you suggested I received a message telling me that it might make the file inoperable. However we still get the invalid source error when we first load it ie 9 & 10however after it loads it plays but with a lot of background static. Can you recommend some conversions software that will convert a file directly to H.264/MPEG-4 AVC with having to change the extension.

    BTW I think we owe you yet another apology because we I had loaded the file 7_darkmatter.mp4 to our servers in the H.264/MPEG-4 AVC and when it did not work we reloaded the original mp4
    Jeff

  9. #84
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Oh, ok.
    Thanks for letting me know.
    I'd still like to stick with HandBrake, as this would help us get to the root of the problem and is essentially still fit for purpose.

    That means that in the first step we could convert your mp4 using HandBrake, then once we know that this works, you could set about fine tuning the results (maybe with another program).

    As I said, I'm away from the PC for a while (currently on el iPad), but in the meantime feel free to Google something like "MPEG-4 to H.264 conversion software" and have a play with what you find.
    (Might be an idea to run any files through www.virustotal.com before you install them)

  10. #85
    Robert Wellock silver trophybronze trophy xhtmlcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    A Maze of Twisty Little Passages
    Posts
    6,316
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would have assumed the Sintel MP4 trailer would run/played on a system with the standard QuickTime plug-in embed rather than requiring the Pro version.

    Sintel (code-named Durian) is a short computer animated film by the Blender Institute so it would be open source, well 'open content' anyway: http://www.sintel.org/download hence why it appeared on the W3C.

    Hmm. VLC Media Player http://www.videolan.org/ I hear is used for converting media even though primarily it is a player. So by what I can gather finally when you tried the test file it played the Sintel trailer, which had been uploaded to your server without any errors. I am wondering if the OBJECT element might have been enough.

    In either case assuming the Sintel demo worked. Then it can only be; your *.mp4 files; your browser settings or plugins installed on your system. I cannot help with MSIE "playback testing" as I don't have Internet Explorer 9+ available.

    Are other people having issues when using; MS IE 9 or IE 10, with such errors when they are viewing: 7_darkmatter.mp4 ?

    Strangely Dave Pullo the files you had a while back [yesterday] the ones you said were converted seemed 'exactly the same' bitwise. Albeit I cannot really help regarding the encoding or viewing in IE but it looketh like we have narrowed down it wasn't the markup or server using the demo file.

    Hence why I suggested yesterday using markup that was correct, and a video file that was known to be working for the demo... I'd already guessed your server would be fine.

    Mike @EastCoast does a lot with video/multimedia so you might want to grab him to see if he can help give suggestions with the file conversion, I think he mostly works with Flash based animation and multimedia.

  11. #86
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Finally we got it right

    I would like to thank everyone who participate in helping us solve this video issue. In particular I would like to express my gratitude for the special effort made by Pullo and Robert.

    Thanks again everyone

    Jeff

  12. #87
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pullo

    I was able to download a file converter form this site << http://www.iwisoft.com/videoconverte...-converter.php >> that enable me to convert our videos to the proper format.

    Could you please do me one last favor. I don't have and Ipad or Iphone.

    If you do could you or someone else who has please do us one more favor and go to http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/?p=6 and see if the video on that page runs on them and post the results.

    Again I would like to thank you and every one else for all of your help

    Jeff

  13. #88
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffocal View Post
    Could you please do me one last favor. I don't have and Ipad or Iphone.

    If you do could you or someone else who has please do us one more favor and go to http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/?p=6 and see if the video on that page runs on them and post the results.
    Unfortunately, I get the error "Invalid Source" on both devices.

  14. #89
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Just joking. Sorry!


    The videos play absolutely fine on both the iPhone3 and the iPad2
    I'm glad I got your encoding problems sorted out and that we were able to help you!

    P.S.
    I had just finished making you some instructions on using HandBrake when you posted that you had things sorted out. If you want to take a look anyway they're here.
    HandBrake also supports batch encoding, so this might be something to consider if you have loads of files to convert.

  15. #90
    Robert Wellock silver trophybronze trophy xhtmlcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    A Maze of Twisty Little Passages
    Posts
    6,316
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Any other future markup coding problems feel free to ask. No problem, it was a pleasure. SPF Mentors Rock and look cool in orange!

  16. #91
    Community Advisor silver trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,554
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Late to this thread but a few points:

    My primary strategy with video nowadays is a single mp4 encoded with h.264, played back by a video tag or flash player depending on browser capabilities. There are very few scenarios this doesn't cover, and it has the added bonus of hardware acceleration on most mobile devices. Extra files such as ogv will only ever get played by a handful of edge cases, stats I've seen from CDNs show limited need for them. Also, in many cases, 'flash video' is actually already in h264 (f4v flash video files are just h264 mp4s). When encoding h264 you need to limit the settings to 'baseline profile' up to level 3.0 if you want to be playable by mobiles a few years old such as the iphone 3gs. If your encoder has the option, you want to put the moov atom (chunk of metadata) at the front which improves playback start time and seekability ('web optimized' in handbrake) . If at all possible don't re-encode already lossy videos, use the original uncompressed source. Keep the audio sampling frequency to 22 or 44khz if the file might be played back by a flash player.

    h.265 has just passed some major international standard ratifications in the last week for what it's worth, and seems to be progressing rapidly, it's twice as efficient in bandwidth at the expense of decoding. Be a few years before this takes over on the web yet though.

  17. #92
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm back. I started converting of our videos to the new format of "H.264/MPEG-4 AVC" and they are all running fine in both IE 10 & 9 on systems running html5 and 4. The only problem is the startup image player skin or splash screen is not appear on all of our pages in IE 9 firefox and Google chrome in system running html4. However I don't think it is the script because the problem is not occurring in all articles. For example we used the following script to load the files to http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/?p=36 If you view that page in systems running html4 with IE 9 firefox or Google chrome you will see not see the start up image however if you go to http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/?p=6 in which we used the identical script you will see the startup image.

    I'd apprfesui it if someone could explain to me why one jpg file works and one doesn't

    Thanks Jeff
    playback capabilities, please download the video below." /> </object></video>
    <video controls="controls" poster="
    http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/29_the_theory_of_everything_1/the_theory_of_everything_1.jpg" width="320" height="240"><source src="
    http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/29_the_theory_of_everything_1/29_the_theory_of_everything_1.mp4" type="video/mp4" /><source src="
    http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/29_the_theory_of_everything_1/29_the_theory_of_everything_1.webm" type="video/webm" /><source src="
    http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/29_the_theory_of_everything_1/29_the_theory_of_everything_1.ogg" type="video/ogg" /><!-- Fallback object
    using Flow Player --><object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://releases.flowplayer.org/swf/flowplayer-3.2.1.swf" width="320" height="240"> <param name="movie" value="http://releases.flowplayer.org/swf/flowplayer-3.2.1.swf" /> <param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /> <param name="wmode" value="transparent" /> <param name="flashVars" value="config={'playlist':['
    http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/29_the_theory_of_everything_1/the_theory_of_everything_1.jpg',{'url':'
    http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/29_the_theory_of_everything_1/29_the_theory_of_everything_1.mp4','autoPlay':false}]}" /> *<img alt="My Movie" src="
    http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/29_the_theory_of_everything_1/the_theory_of_everything_1.jpg" width="320" height="240" title="No video
    playback capabilities, please download the video below." /> </object></video>

  18. #93
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffocal View Post
    If you view that page in systems running html4
    Could you explain what you mean by that phrase? It's not really meaningful, because HTML is just HTML. "Systems" don't run a particular version of HTML. The browser on any computer just accepts whatever HTML code it gets and does its best to render it. Elements like <video> are new additions to HTML and are classed as "HTML5", but that doesn't mean much. Older browsers don't recognize the <video> element, which is why fallbacks like Flash are needed. Technically, when using newer elements like <video> we are meant ot use the "doctype" for HTML5, which is the code at the very top of the page:

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    But the browser doesn't really care what doctype you use.

  19. #94
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All of the videos run and the startup image appears in all browser running windows 8 including Google firefox and IE 10 however the start up image does not appear on any of them on my system running windows 7 although the vides are playable if you click on the player button which is visible. I take back what I said regarding the script because there are only about 5 or 6 out of fifty videos I have been able to update that the start up screen is visable. This make me a bit suspicious that there may be something missing from the second part of the script below

    Fallback object
    using Flow Player --><object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://releases.flowplayer.org/swf/flowplayer-3.2.1.swf" width="320" height="240"> <param name="movie" value="http://releases.flowplayer.org/swf/flowplayer-3.2.1.swf" /> <param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /> <param name="wmode" value="transparent" /> <param name="flashVars" value="config={'playlist':['
    http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/29_the_theory_of_everything_1/the_theory_of_everything_1.jpg',{'url':'
    http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/29_the_theory_of_everything_1/29_the_theory_of_everything_1.mp4','autoPlay':false}]}" /> *<img alt="My Movie" src="
    http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/29_the_theory_of_everything_1/the_theory_of_everything_1.jpg" width="320" height="240" title="No video
    playback capabilities, please download the video below." /> </object></video>

  20. #95
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffocal View Post
    the start up image does not appear on any of them on my system running windows 7 ... This make me a bit suspicious that there may be something missing from the second part of the script below ...
    Your Win7 browsers won't be using that second part of the code (the fallback) anyway, so I doubt that's the issue. I just checked in IE9, Win7, and the image loads and then disappears again. Not sure why, though.

  21. #96
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That the same thing that I am seeing it disappears after a few seconds

  22. #97
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    I can't reproduce on IE anything on Win 8.
    So are we saying on Win 7, when you go to this page using IE9, you see the poster image briefly, but it disappears almost straight away, but when you go to the same page using IE9 on Windows 8, everything works as expected and the image stays?

    Edit: Might this article explain things?

  23. #98
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pullo

    Yes that article explained exactly what is happening. After reading it I went back and checked and found that the startup pic was appearing in Google Chroma and firefox. Is there a fix available. if so we would be eternally grateful if could you post it for us

    Jeff

  24. #99
    Gre aus'm Pott gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Pullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6,002
    Mentioned
    219 Post(s)
    Tagged
    12 Thread(s)
    Hi Jeff,

    Try changing this:

    HTML Code:
    <video controls="controls" poster="http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/29_the_theory_of_everything_1/the_theory_of_everything_1.jpg" width="320" height="240">
    into this:

    HTML Code:
    <video controls="controls" poster="http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/29_the_theory_of_everything_1/the_theory_of_everything_1.jpg" width="320" height="240" preload="none">

    I'm not suggesting this as a permanent fix, but am curious if it will work.

  25. #100
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My apologize I think I may have posted the wrong script

    This is the one we upload to that page. It looks a bit different from the one we posted earlier

    <video height="240" width="320" poster="http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/5_a_theroy_of_everything_1/a_theroy_of_everything_1.jpg" controls="controls"><source type="video/mp4" src="http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/5_a_theroy_of_everything_1/5_a_theroy_of_everything_1.mp4" /><source type="video/webm" src="http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/5_a_theroy_of_everything_1/5_a_theroy_of_everything_1.webm" /><source type="video/ogg" src="http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/5_a_theroy_of_everything_1/5_a_theroy_of_everything_1.ogg" /><!-- Fallback object using Flow Player --><object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://releases.flowplayer.org/swf/flowplayer-3.2.1.swf" width="320" height="240"> <param name="movie" value="http://releases.flowplayer.org/swf/flowplayer-3.2.1.swf" /> <param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /> <param name="wmode" value="transparent" /> <param name="flashVars" value="config={'playlist':[ 'http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/5_a_theroy_of_everything_1/a_theroy_of_everything_1.jpg',
    {'url':'http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/5_a_theroy_of_everything_1/5_a_theroy_of_everything_1.mp4','autoPlay':false}]}" /> *<img alt="My Movie" src="http://www.theimagineershome.com/blog/video/5_a_theroy_of_everything_1/a_theroy_of_everything_1.jpg" width="320" height="240" title="No video playback capabilities, please download the video below." /> </object></video>

    Could you please repost where you would like us to add the preload="none" to it.

    We want to make sure that get it right


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •