SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kent in Uk
    Posts
    538
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Webmaster tools cannot fetch my index page.

    Hi,

    My site has been up for over two years. However when I try to fetch it in Google web master tools it fails each time. I have tried three times now. Can anyone give me an ideas to why this maybe and if it is something I should be concerned about?

    thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you made any changes to the index page recently? If not, then it could be an issue with Google. If no changes have been made recently, I would wait a couple of days and see if the issue persists.
    Wordpress Auto Installer
    www.webproco.com

  3. #3
    Barefoot on the Moon! silver trophy Force Flow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Northeastern USA
    Posts
    4,615
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Does your website need to be re-validated with google?
    Visit The Blog | Follow On Twitter
    301tool 1.1.5 - URL redirector & shortener (PHP/MySQL)
    Can be hosted on and utilize your own domain

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kent in Uk
    Posts
    538
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by revium View Post
    Have you made any changes to the index page recently? If not, then it could be an issue with Google. If no changes have been made recently, I would wait a couple of days and see if the issue persists.
    I have tried to fetch it three times over a period of three months.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kent in Uk
    Posts
    538
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Force Flow View Post
    Does your website need to be re-validated with google?

    Maybe. How do i know it does and how do I re-validate?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard masm50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,508
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Webmaster Tools should tell you if you need to re-validate your site.

    The most common culprit for Google not being able to access a page is a misconfigured robots.txt file.
    What site are you having trouble with?

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kent in Uk
    Posts
    538
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by masm50 View Post
    Webmaster Tools should tell you if you need to re-validate your site.

    The most common culprit for Google not being able to access a page is a misconfigured robots.txt file.
    What site are you having trouble with?
    Hi there is nothing there to suggest it needs re-validating.

    This site I am trying to fetch is http://www.web-writer-articles.co.uk.

    The robost txt file says (I believe):

    User-agent: *
    Disallow: /insert.php

    At the bottom of the page in webmaster tools it says:

    URLs Specify the URLs and user-agents to test against.
    http://www.web-writer-articles.co.uk

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard masm50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,508
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Huh... What exact error message does Google give you?

  9. #9
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kent in Uk
    Posts
    538
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by masm50 View Post
    Huh... What exact error message does Google give you?
    The error occurs when I am trying to fetch the index page as Google in webmaster tools. Usually when it has fetched it you see a green tick and the word success. When it tries it goes on foreever and then eventually there is a red cross and the word failed.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cass27 View Post
    The error occurs when I am trying to fetch the index page as Google in webmaster tools. Usually when it has fetched it you see a green tick and the word success. When it tries it goes on foreever and then eventually there is a red cross and the word failed.
    I've actually had this problem pop up on numerous sites in the past 4-weeks in Webmaster Tools, and it seems like a lot of other people are having the same problem. This morning I had a site with a WMT warning of "Severe health issues are found on your site. - Check site health" even though robots contained about what you have going on (It's a WP setup, so there was a disallow on /wp-admin and such).

    I grabbed a non-functional robots.txt file from another site with no such warnings and it fixed the problem... I think this is a problem Google has right now, not necessarily your site. Here's the commented out code I replaced:

    # See http://www.robotstxt.org/wc/norobots.html for documentation on how to use the robots.txt file
    #
    # To ban all spiders from the entire site uncomment the next two lines:
    # User-Agent: *
    # Disallow: /

    That said, what specifically are you trying to do by fetching as Google? It seems like your site is indexed, so it doesn't look like Google is having problems finding you.
    List Here classifieds - it's really super duper cool.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kent in Uk
    Posts
    538
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by duffyace View Post
    I've actually had this problem pop up on numerous sites in the past 4-weeks in Webmaster Tools, and it seems like a lot of other people are having the same problem. This morning I had a site with a WMT warning of "Severe health issues are found on your site. - Check site health" even though robots contained about what you have going on (It's a WP setup, so there was a disallow on /wp-admin and such).

    I grabbed a non-functional robots.txt file from another site with no such warnings and it fixed the problem... I think this is a problem Google has right now, not necessarily your site. Here's the commented out code I replaced:

    # See http://www.robotstxt.org/wc/norobots.html for documentation on how to use the robots.txt file
    #
    # To ban all spiders from the entire site uncomment the next two lines:
    # User-Agent: *
    # Disallow: /

    That said, what specifically are you trying to do by fetching as Google? It seems like your site is indexed, so it doesn't look like Google is having problems finding you.
    I took the robots page down. Then i tried to fetch again. Again it failed.

    The reason I am using fetch is because recently i updated the home page so for quickness I wanted to re-submit the home page.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Member iwebsocial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think You have re look in to your site, just check your Robots.txt file or meta tags, Just Look of Index & Follow tags. Then Try to request google for index. If the problem is persist, then try to Contact Google or Browse there support Forum.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kent in Uk
    Posts
    538
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by iwebsocial View Post
    I think You have re look in to your site, just check your Robots.txt file or meta tags, Just Look of Index & Follow tags. Then Try to request google for index. If the problem is persist, then try to Contact Google or Browse there support Forum.
    Hi,

    Just to let people know that I have now successfully submitted the index page. It happened after I took down the robots page. Why this should be, I don't know but it may help others whoi come across the same problem.

    regards and thanks for the ideas,


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •