SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm a new web developer and working hard to revamp my company's internet presence. One of the things our senior management wants to do is track users of our site...as in, know *who* came to the site and *what* they looked at, and whether they are registered to use our forums or get our newsletter or whatever, etc. My supervisior suggested using cookies for this...but I don't even know if that's the right technology for me to be looking at. I would assume that, if done with cookies, we would have to place a cookie on the client and then, as surfing happens, use that cookie to send back data and write it to a file somehow...

Suggestions? Am I thinking right at all about this?

Thanks for any help, especially that which would help me feel less like I am banging my head on a door that won't open...

Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It can be done with cookies but some people surf with thier cookies diabled.

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Indeed, by setting a cookie on your visitors' computers, you can assign a unique ID to each visitor to your site. That ID will be preseved even between visits to your site.

You can then use that ID to track their activities using a server-side script (presumably the same script that sets the cookie in the first place).

You'll need to be proficient in a server-side scripting language such as PHP, ASP, or Perl.

And be sure to put up a privacy policy if you do this!
    Kevin Yank
    CTO, sitepoint.com
    I wrote: Simply JavaScript | BYO PHP/MySQL | Tech Times | Editize
    Baby’s got back—a hard back, that is: The Ultimate CSS Reference

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)