SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    495
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Crawl error correction advice

    Webmaster tools pops up 2 crawl errors coming from sites that have faulty links to mine. I doubt that it will do a lot of damage to Google's evaluation of my site, but it is annoying to get these messages pop up on a regular basis.
    How do I get rid of these "error code 403" notifications before it becomes a problem?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,805
    Mentioned
    73 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi @benbob ;

    I have struggled with exactly the same problem and GWT still reports crawl errors.


    http://ellislab.com/forums/viewthread/186131/

    The problem incorrect URL's from other sites linking to images on my site

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Still in my Homeland Pakistan
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Friend, Try to use light weight images. you can also use images into your site by URL. it is main defect because it takes your band width and which creates this type of error.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    495
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by seolosangeles View Post
    Friend, Try to use light weight images. you can also use images into your site by URL. it is main defect because it takes your band width and which creates this type of error.
    The errors have nothing to do with images, nor with bandwith or streaming problems. My site is hosted by UnitedHosting which is currently considered to be the best host in the UK, and even my slowest pages take on average between 300 and 500 ms to load.
    The errors are caused by poor quality third party websites that have faulty format algorithms. I have no influence on them and can not get them to sort it.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    495
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by John_Betong View Post
    Hi @benbob ;
    I have struggled with exactly the same problem and GWT still reports crawl errors.
    http://ellislab.com/forums/viewthread/186131/
    The problem incorrect URL's from other sites linking to images on my site
    Hi John,
    Am I correct in assuming that you have tried, too, but not found a solution as of yet?

    I noticed this only this recently for the first time. I've not accessed WMT/GA for a good month due to a computer crash and resulting access problems whilst lacking time to sort it out. I am fairly sure these errors weren't there in October, but unfortunately am not 100% sure of that.
    Have you had these errors long?
    Last edited by benbob; Dec 29, 2012 at 14:22. Reason: fat fingers

  6. #6
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,805
    Mentioned
    73 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by benbob View Post
    Hi John,
    Am I correct in assuming that you have tried, too, but not found a solution as of yet?

    I noticed this only this recently for the first time. I've not accessed WMT/GA for a good month due to a computer crash and resulting access problems whilst lacking time to sort it out. I am fairly sure these errors weren't there in October, but unfortunately am not 100% sure of that.
    Have you had these errors long?
    Try this it appears to work and keeps Google Webmaster Tools from complaining:

    // .htaccess
    PHP Code:

    # add these lines to the bottom of the .htaccess file
    ErrorDocument 404 http://your-site.com/errors/404.php 

    // errors/404.php
    PHP Code:

    <?php 
      header
    ("HTTP/1.1 200 reset-to-keep-Google-Webmaster-Tools-Happy " );
      
    $title 'Error file - 404.php';
    ?>
    <doctype html>
    <!Doctype html>
    <head>
      <title><?php echo $title;?> </title>
    </head>
    <body>
      <h1> 
        <?php echo $title;?> 
      </h1>

    <body>
    </html>
    Further information regarding setting header();

    http://ranacse05.wordpress.com/2008/...ader-tutorial/
    Last edited by John_Betong; Jan 1, 2013 at 09:26. Reason: spelling: not my fortay


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •