SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation drop database error

    Just started working through php and mysql novice to ninja 5. second chapter, MYSQL i have set up the servers on my computer and so on. go in to PHPmyadmin and try to drop "test" database. when i try i get this error any ideas?

    Error
    SQL query: Edit

    DROP DATABASE `test`

    MySQL said:

    #1010 - Error dropping database (can't rmdir '.\test\', errno: 17)

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Cups's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    France, deep rural.
    Posts
    6,869
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    A search on this error number turned up this.

    If your Mysql version number matches one of those reported, then one of the workarounds might work for you.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Cups View Post
    A search on this error number turned up this.

    If your Mysql version number matches one of those reported, then one of the workarounds might work for you.
    thanks for the link, had a look and tbh i havent got a clue what it is saying. if you know, could you explain in a way a person not knowing MYSQL too much could unnderstand?

    Thanks again for the quick reply
    Last edited by Veyper; Dec 25, 2012 at 11:19. Reason: mistake

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Veyper View Post
    thanks for the link, had a look and tbh i havent got a clue what it is saying. if you know, could you explain in a way a person not knowing MYSQL too much could unnderstand?

    Thanks again for the quick reply
    heres the suggested fix (taken from cups link) incase anyone else knows?

    Suggested fix:
    Solution 1:
    Remove .empty in mysql_rm_db (sql/sql_db.cc)

    Solution 2:
    Use db.opt as DUMMY_FILE instead of .empty
    AND remove .empty on upgrade.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Cups View Post
    A search on this error number turned up this.

    If your Mysql version number matches one of those reported, then one of the workarounds might work for you.
    managed it, went into directy and deleted .empty file tried to drop it again with phpmyadmin and worked. works a treat.

    incase anyone has this problem in future.

    /xampp/mysql/data/test and delete .empty

    thanks again

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Cups's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    France, deep rural.
    Posts
    6,869
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Good on you for posting the fix and confirming that it works!


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •