SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast murphaloid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE Compatibility View

    Hello

    Ive built a site mainly consisting of image galleries for an artist.

    The images are looking great in the usual browsers,but there is a problem in IE.

    In IE 9 and 10 the images have a slightly lower resolution, UNLESS I switch to compatibility view. Then they look as they should.

    How can I make the images view properly without having to turn on compatibility view? And why is it doing this...could it be a fault in my coding?


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,604
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Possibly an error in your code but impossible to say for sure without seeing the code.

    Compatibility mode is generally only needed for pages coded for old versions of IE.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast murphaloid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I see, can I assume that if its a coding issue, its most likely to be a problem in the head tag? If so I will just post that up.

    I ask because Ive written the code mostly in html5

    Thanks

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast murphaloid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can anyone help any further?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict deadmix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    france
    Posts
    205
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hello, have you tried to add height:auto and width:auto for the images view on IE! or max-height and max-width, this usually results in IE rendering the correct aspect ratio when the images are kinda big..

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast murphaloid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, do you mean to put height:auto and width:auto into my html? Or are you talking about a setting in IE?

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict deadmix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    france
    Posts
    205
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i talk about your HTML code.

  8. #8
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    23,601
    Mentioned
    411 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by deadmix View Post
    i talk about your HTML code.
    I think you are talking about the CSS, aren't you? height:auto and width:auto are something you'd put in the CSS.

    @murphaloid What you are describing sounds pretty odd, as IE9 and 10 should behave pretty well. As felgall said, the ideal would be for us to see this ourselves. Is this online yet?

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict deadmix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    france
    Posts
    205
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    I think you are talking about the CSS, aren't you? height:auto and width:auto are something you'd put in the CSS
    yes sorry and thank you for the correction, when i answered the question it was kinda 3:00am over here

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast murphaloid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    I think you are talking about the CSS, aren't you? height:auto and width:auto are something you'd put in the CSS.

    @murphaloid What you are describing sounds pretty odd, as IE9 and 10 should behave pretty well. As felgall said, the ideal would be for us to see this ourselves. Is this online yet?
    Hi there

    Thanks for trying to help guys I'm not so good with browser issues (but getting better!).

    The site is temporarily online, only to allow good people like you to help me to fix it. Its here www.tristanbristow.com

    The issues are:

    Site looks good in Firefox, Chrome, Safari.

    In IE 10,9,8 - the site looks as it should, EXCEPT the images are lacking the correct sharpness. The fonts and navigation are fine.

    BUT

    IF I switch to compatibility view in those versions, the images are properly rendered but the fonts and navigation look poor.

    I haven't tried yet to support IE7 so don't worry about that for now. This is the only issue preventing the site from being launched!

    Thanks

  11. #11
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    23,601
    Mentioned
    411 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)
    Looks absolutely fine to me in IE, but perhaps that's because I'm on a Mac. Perhaps the opacity settings set by JS are causing the browser problems. How do the pictures look for you if you turn off JavaScript?

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict deadmix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    france
    Posts
    205
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hello there,

    i just tested the website on IE 9 it's really working good, im under Windows XP there is no different on my side, all work good!

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast murphaloid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Really? Thats helpful to know...are you certain the large images look exactly the same if you switch to compatibility mode? The best image to test is to look at the writing on the door of the first image on the homepage.

    Thanks!

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast murphaloid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    Looks absolutely fine to me in IE, but perhaps that's because I'm on a Mac. Perhaps the opacity settings set by JS are causing the browser problems. How do the pictures look for you if you turn off JavaScript?
    OK so I turned off Javascript and the images are perfect! So this must mean a JS issue? I know nothing about JS I'm afraid.....can you help?

  15. #15
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've just had a look, after stopping the slide show, and I CAN see differences in the sharpness. Using FF 17, Chrome 23 (when will this insane numbering race stop) and IE9 on my old Vista machine. The IE images are slightly lower contrast.

    On my new (back from the repair shop) Windows 7 machine which has a sharper screen, I see it there too, for the same browsers.

    It's not your imagination.

    Then I turned off Javascript in IE on the Windows 7 machine, and it made no difference (yes, I remembered to refresh the page as well). That door with writing on it is a good test image, I accidentally choose that one when I first looked.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast murphaloid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr John View Post
    I've just had a look, after stopping the slide show, and I CAN see differences in the sharpness. Using FF 17, Chrome 23 (when will this insane numbering race stop) and IE9 on my old Vista machine. The IE images are slightly lower contrast.

    On my new (back from the repair shop) Windows 7 machine which has a sharper screen, I see it there too, for the same browsers.

    It's not your imagination.

    Then I turned off Javascript in IE on the Windows 7 machine, and it made no difference (yes, I remembered to refresh the page as well). That door with writing on it is a good test image, I accidentally choose that one when I first looked.
    That's interesting, thanks for confirming that there is an IE issue. I'm completely stumped and desperately hoping some clever person out there can help me fix it ASAP!

    Thanks for your replies so far. Any more ideas out there?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •