SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Form link (button) not firing

    I am working with this piece of code and it is not firing when I put it in the page I need which is static HTML. It does work if you create a plain HTML page, but it is not working on the page I need.

    HTML Code:
    <form name="CTTPDD" action="https://example.com" method="post" target="_blank"><input type="hidden" value="##.##" name="campaign" /><input name="repeat" type="hidden" value="1"><input type="image" src="image.gif" value="submit" name="submit" /></form>
    What could it be?

    Please can you help.

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,117
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Could you give a bit more information? What does "not firing mean"? What is the difference between the test page and the actual page it needs to work on? Can you post a link?
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello

    It doesn't go to the link i want it to go to.

  4. #4
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,117
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jelly46 View Post
    It doesn't go to the link i want it to go to.
    That's a shame.

    But if you want more help, please try to answer some of those questions I asked.

    If you just want a link to another page, a form input is not what you want. In that case, you just want a link. E.g.

    Code:
    <a href="http://example.com">View the Campaign</a>
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks. the code need to link through button code for it to work. As there is a value to it it needs to be executed via button HTML.

    I can create a link now problem, its just that this is a bit more complex.

  6. #6
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,117
    Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    OK, what exactly do you need to do with the botton. Could you explain the context fo this button? What information are you passing on, in what way? Are you using PHP, or something similar? Where does this value need to go?
    Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Web Design Tips | Free Contact Form

    Forum Usage: Tips on posting code samples, images and more

    Forrest Gump: "IE is like a box of chocolates: you never know what you're gonna get."

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, you've seen the code.

    The link will go to a for so a user can donate, however the code needs fire the value of the campaign code.

    the button code is on a html static page.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy chris.upjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    2,189
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Why not simply just change the method from POST to GET?

  9. #9
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    256 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Have you tried raising a support ticket with ctt.org, as it looks like their code you're using?
    Take plenty of exercise walk round and round the garden
    or
    sign up now for the Isle of Jura 10K or Half Marathon!

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep, did that and we are looking into it, i just need to think outside the box.


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •