SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post how to connect Host PC and Virtual PC withoutusing LAN cable

    hi,

    I am having Windows XP SP3. I installed virtual PC as windows XP SP2. HOST system is not connected with lan cable. what should i want to do to connect with Host PC and Virtual PC.


    regards,
    Nithi

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    can anybody help me to resolve this issue?

  3. #3
    #titanic {float:none} silver trophy
    molona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    from Madrid to Heaven
    Posts
    8,169
    Mentioned
    232 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Not sure that I understand your question... you say that you have a Virtual PC installed in the same machine as your Windows XP SP3? What do you need to connect... do you need to use internet? do you need to share a folder so information passes to/from any of the PCs?

    What are you using to create your Virtual Machine?

  4. #4
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,784
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    The virtual environment can be set up with a virtual network connection. You would need networking installed in both places if you want the OS in the virtual PC to be able to connect over the network to the host PC (and so the host PC would need a network card If you just want to be able to access files from outside the virtual PC then you can define folders from the host PC as drive letters on the virtual PC without needing to set up networking.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks molona for the response. what i need is find by felgall. i want to transfer the data from my host PC to Virtual PC without connecting with LAN cable. can you assist me pls.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi Felgall once again thanks for the response. i want to transfer the files from my host PC to Virtual PC without connecting with LAN cable. can you assist me please.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    357
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Look for a setting in the VM networking where you can choose "bridged" networking. Bridging the network will put the VM nic on your local network as if it were an actual machine on the network. Once you do this and the firewalls are set correctly your VM should show up in the host network places and you can drag & drop files between them. Assuming the VM and host are one and the same machine you won't need any physical lan cable.
    Doug G
    =====
    "If you ain't the lead dog, the view is always the same - Anon

  8. #8
    #titanic {float:none} silver trophy
    molona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    from Madrid to Heaven
    Posts
    8,169
    Mentioned
    232 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    One of the reasons that I asked you which software you use to create your virtual machine is because there different methods to do what you want. You can do what @Doug G ; suggested or you can create a folder that you pc and the virtual machine can share. That's what I do with my virtualBox configuation.

    I have one folder where I save all the files that I want my PC and my virtual machine to see, and with an instruction in VirtualBox, I added that folder as a network drive in my virtual machine

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Doug G.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Molona. today I will check the Idea of Doug and let you know about the result. thanks a lot Doug

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yaa. its working, thanks a lot all of you.

  12. #12
    #titanic {float:none} silver trophy
    molona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    from Madrid to Heaven
    Posts
    8,169
    Mentioned
    232 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Nithyaanandh.R View Post
    Yaa. its working, thanks a lot all of you.
    I guess that you're talking about the "bridge"? I'm asking so people that have the same problem know how you solved it

  13. #13
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey that's great to know that you find the solutions of your problem. I am also facing the same problem but now I think that I could solve it very soon.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •