SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Forcing a Homepage

    Hi all,

    I'm the Webmaster/Designer for a Private Sector Company Intranet.

    Now without exaggeration we must have the most IT-apathetic staff in the world even though they all work on PCs every day!

    Anyways I've been trying to get them to bookmark the Company Intranet Site as their homepage for months to no avail.

    I've sent them regular emails on the importance of doing it, run articles in the Company magazine, even put a JavaScript (make this your homepage) button on the site and nothing works. I would guess that even now only maybe 20% have it as their homepage.

    Bits and pieces get posted to the Intranet Site all the time and once a month I post a Team Brief which contains a lot of very pertinent and important information for the staff.

    I'd like a JavaScript that I can inconspicuously force a homepage. In other words I'll link to the Intranet Site from my email and by simply clicking on this link the user will have unwittingly booked the Intranet as their homepage.

    Obviously smething that will not flag up a User "Do you accept?" permission.

    Mnay thanks in anticipation

    Mike

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    104
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Possible solution

    Hi,

    I am not too sure that you can do that in Javascript, maybe ..

    If you are using Windows and want to roll out a change within your company, you can use SMS (Server Management Script - I think!). This allows you to set the homepage and also to lock it so that you can't change it except through the Registry which most people wouldn't know about.

    Hope this helps,
    - Sean

  3. #3
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you dealing with an all IE environment? You could use something like this...

    <body onload="document.links('homepageLink').click();">
    <a href="javascript://void(0);" id="homepageLink" style="behavior: url(#default#homepage);" onclick="this.setHomePage('http://www.myurl.com');" >Homepage</a>
    </body>

    Thank will click the link for the user, but still give them the prompt. The only other way is to use ActiveX, but the machine has to have fairly loose security settings for that to work.

    I agree with sean, there should be some server-related or intranet managed solution for this.
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Sean thanks for the reply,
    As it's a Governmental Agency the one thing you can be sure of is that everyones using the same system, so yes it's all Windows with IE as the browser.
    Where can I find out more about SMS (Server Management Script) please?

    Hi Beetle,
    It's definitely IE.
    I've already tried the script you recommend (in fact it's already on the Intranet Homepage) but I can't convince the staff to use it.
    Server-related or an Intranet Managed Solution would certainly seem the solution if anyone knows more on this please?

  5. #5
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Andrew_Sam
    I've already tried the script you recommend (in fact it's already on the Intranet Homepage) but I can't convince the staff to use it.
    Even with the automatic click?

    If this is so important, why can't some boss just issue an order? How many PCs are there? Could it feasibly be done by manually?
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Memo from the Chief Executive had no effect.

    Over 300 PCs in 7 Geographic locations around the Country.

    Manually - no way (very small IT Dept.
    Anyway some staff would no doubt change it as soon as set.

  7. #7
    Web-coding NINJA! silver trophy beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What a lousy bunch of employees. I wish you the best of luck and hope that sean or someone else has a solution for you.
    beetle a.k.a. Peter Bailey
    blogs: php | prophp | security | design | zen | software
    refs: dhtml | gecko | prototype | phpdocs | unicode | charsets
    tools: ide | ftp | regex | ffdev




  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    104
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    A link

    Hi Andrew_Sam,

    Here is a link to the Home of SMS (Systems Management Server)
    http://www.microsoft.com/smserver/default.asp

    It is an MS product so it should fit in nicely with what you are doing.

    - Sean.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Many thanks fellow Irishman
    Cheers Sean, I'll have a hunt round their page


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •