SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru pinch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    688
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Experimenting with a New Host

    I use ASP.net hosting for one of my websites and would like to experiment with a new host. I will need to keep the existing site online during this process but I want to completely prove-it-out on the new host before deciding to move.

    Is there any other way to do this besides buying a new domain name (mysitename-test.com, or mysitename.org) and using that domain to try things out on my the new host? The only drawback I can see to this is 1) buying the domain costs money and 2) the potential for Google seeing the test site as duplicate content.

    I think I should be able to block robots on the test site, so really the only issue is paying money for a site that will only be used for testing purposes?

  2. #2
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,650
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    pinch,

    If you stayed on the current host, you could do this via a subdomain. However, using a new host, you're stuck using another domain name.

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast ewin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Washington, D.C.
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you have to test this on a domain? Either way, you should be able to test on a subdomain or if you can't create a subdomain, even test it via IP.
    Josh Ewin, Director of Marketing
    Solar VPS - The Best Price to Performance Ratio In Cloud and VPS Hosting

  4. #4
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Create a subdomain on your main domain, set it up to point at the name servers for the new host. If you cannot do this, you have a lousy domain register. Ah how I enjoy Azure, 90 day free trial, pay-as-you-go, internal test URLs, and so much more.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru pinch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    688
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So by using a subdomain pointed at the new host's nameservers, would I still be able to try out components provided by the new host, like 3rd party add-ons?

  6. #6
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't see why not.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could also request a temporary domain url to help you to check everything before migration?

  8. #8
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,650
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    sahostking has a good point. I don't use anyone's "free domain name" but that should give you a "dummy" domain name for a master account with all your hosted accounts in addon domains under the master. They can be addressed either as a subdomain of the "dummy" or directly (bypassing the code of the master domain).

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •