SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Google Chrome Flash Plugin Crashes - How to fix it?

    I have been dealing with this problem for almost a year now. I am using Google chrome as my browser. At times, it suddenly hangs/freezes and that note about flash plugin crashing would then appear. It's a total headache.

    Anyone had the same problem? What did you do to fix this issue?

  2. #2
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,234
    Mentioned
    154 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had this for a while too on Linux and found the following article very helpful:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/103292/how-...google-chrome/

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast vincewicks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My recommendation is very simple. Unistall Chrome My long experience shows that Mozilla Firefox is the best browser nowadays.
    This site is the go-to place for web designs.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cpradio View Post
    I had this for a while too on Linux and found the following article very helpful:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/103292/how-...google-chrome/
    hey, thank you very much. The article presented reflected the issue with my chrome. I got 2 flash plugins, 1 for chrome and 1 for mozilla. I disabled that of the chrome per advise.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vincewicks View Post
    My recommendation is very simple. Unistall Chrome My long experience shows that Mozilla Firefox is the best browser nowadays.
    Yeah, this is sort of like the last resort according to the link shared by cpradio. But, I'll see if the steps presented would work before re-installing. I'm not really a big fan of mozilla. Not since chrome came about. It would take some time to load.

  6. #6
    Non-Member Wisestepp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ya i too got that problem when i have opened many tabs in the Chrome browser i just neglect that and closed all the tab and restarted the browser simple running as before

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Essex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have this problem but uninstalling and re installing does not seem to fix the problem.

  8. #8
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,317
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by HostingPlace View Post
    I have this problem but uninstalling and re installing does not seem to fix the problem.
    Did you read the article that cpradio posted? It's pretty handy. I had the same problem too—and jeesh, I had 3 versions of Flash going on there.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Essex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes I have tried those steps with no luck. Also I only have one flash installation so no conflicts :s. May just switch to another browser.
    HostingTool - Honest Web Hosting
    █ Shared and Reseller cPanel Web Hosting. Guaranteed Resources.
    http://www.hostingtool.net

  10. #10
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,234
    Mentioned
    154 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This didn't actually affect me (or at least I never had crashes), but this may be of interest if your crashing was just recently occurring.
    http://rss.slashdot.org/~r/Slashdot/...J4/story01.htm

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member Jakbeas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Top of the Earth
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cpradio View Post
    This didn't actually affect me (or at least I never had crashes), but this may be of interest if your crashing was just recently occurring.
    http://rss.slashdot.org/~r/Slashdot/...J4/story01.htm
    Thanks for the link. I've been having a lot of problems with Chrome hanging. At first I was removing flash and re-installing it. Then I downgraded my flash but was still having problems. Since this was made available to me today I will continue to monitor my Chrome. BTW Firefox in my opinion was at one time a good browser but has also had recent problems with add-ons.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey guys. I followed cpradio's post. My flash hasn't crashed for some time now. It works for me. The thing is I tend to open a lot of tabs and I don't want to close it all and open everything back again when the flash plugin crashes. It's like a waste of time on my end, considering that it can happen at any time.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    HI TO ALL
    I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH MY CHROME ADD ON I WANT TO BLOCK ADDS OF SITE PLZ TELL ME THE ADD ON NAME.THAT IS WORK PERFECT.

  14. #14
    Hosting Team Leader silver trophybronze trophy
    cpradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,234
    Mentioned
    154 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by tom.william66 View Post
    HI TO ALL
    I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH MY CHROME ADD ON I WANT TO BLOCK ADDS OF SITE PLZ TELL ME THE ADD ON NAME.THAT IS WORK PERFECT.
    Hi Tom, I think you have two problems, one being your CAPS LOCK is stuck and the second being what you described. Searching for Ad Block Plus should help you resolve one of the two problems, you may need to replace your keyboard to fix the other.

  15. #15
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It comes often that flash has crashed don't worry it is not that harm. Leave some space it automatically get corrected by itself


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •