SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    My CSS doesn't load!

    Hi there everyone,

    In the last hours I've been practicing some HTML and CSS coding starting form scratch. Then I got Coda so the edition become easier, everything went well until after a while (editing my html file hosted in my server directly with Coda) my HTML didn't load any font, and afterwards didn't load my CSS linked file.

    This happened twice today, and I don't know why. Can anyone tell me why my HTML doesn't load my CSS? Big thanks in advance.

    http://jasho.mx/cv/index.html
    http://jasho.mx/cv/css/mainstyle.css

    P.S. I don't know if there's a problem with my computer's caches or something, please tell me if you see the CSS working.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,276
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Wow, cool!

    I clicked on the url to your webfonts.css and got a bunch of Japanese! Or something.

    I clicked on your "css/style.css" and that file is 404. There's your problem. Here's the full URL our browsers think your CSS should be at: http://jasho.mx/cv/css/style.css

    Notice it's called "style.css" in your HTML and not "mainstyle.css".
    Code:
    	<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" title="normal" href="css/style.css">
    It might be that simple. Yay!

    (also your site is set to "spain-ish spanish" language... isn't there a es-MX? It would mean a screen reader who had a Latin American Spanish "voice" installed would use that one instead of thounding like it had a lithp.)

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Stomme, Thank you for your kind reply.

    Actually the folder destinations were OK, anyway I changed it to the complete URL, with even new file name, the folders are there too.
    The webfonts.css file looks ok, I don't know why you are viewing japanese characters :S

    The problem remains. I don't know what is wrong.

    P.S. (I have changed the site's language)

    http://jasho.mx/cv/index.html
    http://jasho.mx/cv/css/mainstyle.css
    http://jasho.mx/cv/css/webfonts.css

  4. #4
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,176
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    The CSS is loading for me! Perhaps try clearing you cache / refreshing your browser etc.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Kind of weird...

    I just discovered... after my last post I clicked on the url http://jasho.mx/cv/index.html and this work very well, loading the CSS. But when I access by typing http://jasho.mx/cv it doesn't load the CSS.

    Why this happens?

  6. #6
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,176
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    It loads fine for me in that page too. Same issue: refresh your browser / clear cache.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But I tested in another computer, different of mine, and there was the problem too.

    Now I access both ways and magically works, and I didn't make a big change. :S

    Anyone know why this happens?

  8. #8
    Community Advisor silver trophybronze trophy
    dresden_phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,798
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    So it seems that index.html works but the automatic redirect to index.html doesnt..hmmm. IS this a CMS based site? Both ways seem to be working fine for me here tho...

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try to disable blocking widgets in your browsers (like Adblock plus) for your site.

  10. #10
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,355
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by raxy80 View Post
    Try to disable blocking widgets in your browsers (like Adblock plus) for your site.
    Thanks for posting anyway but you just replied to a thread that is over a year old so I doubt the issue still exists

    Thread closed.


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •