SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Trouble with editing package.json file according to the book.

I'm fairly new to Mac OSx in general and I'm trying to go through the Jump Start Node.js book on a Mac. I've got node installed just fine and I'm at the part where I am supposed to edit the package.json file. I'm having some difficulty here. First, which package.json file am I supposed to edit? On my system I have several of these. Second, am I supposed to delete everything that's in the file and just put in what the book says or do I simply add the information provided in the book to the end of the file?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nevermind, I figured it out.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Cant edit package.json

Quote Originally Posted by Seanmyr View Post
    I'm fairly new to Mac OSx in general and I'm trying to go through the Jump Start Node.js book on a Mac. I've got node installed just fine and I'm at the part where I am supposed to edit the package.json file. I'm having some difficulty here. First, which package.json file am I supposed to edit? On my system I have several of these. Second, am I supposed to delete everything that's in the file and just put in what the book says or do I simply add the information provided in the book to the end of the file?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    Hi all
    I actually have the indentical problem to Seanmyr im new to the Nodejs approach to web development and im trying to follow along with the book jumpstart nodejs and i have tried to edit the package.json file under windows 7 here is the file path

C:\Program Files\nodejs\node_modules\npm