SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Quezon City, Philippines
    Posts
    72
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Removing borders of textboxes

    I know how to define a background color and a font for the textbox but can I remove the border of a textbox (form)?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    2,686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried
    Code:
    .textbox {
        border: none;
    }
    If this does not work you could try to set the border-color the same as the background-color.

    HTH

    -Helge

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Quezon City, Philippines
    Posts
    72
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Smile

    I haven't tried it yet. I'll try it now.

    I applied the first one and it worked. Thanks helge!

  4. #4
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Why would you want a textbox with no borders? I would think that it would be very hard for Joe User to figure out that the area in question is actually a text box for input.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast Incubator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Good old Belgium
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    depends, if he intends to use it on a dark bg, then a border can be a bit ugly if you look for smooth design
    "Press any key to continue. Press any other key to exit."

  6. #6
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Incubator
    depends, if he intends to use it on a dark bg, then a border can be a bit ugly if you look for smooth design
    True, but against a black background you can always do something like a white solid border with a grey inner area, which would make it stand out against the darkness. It's all in how it's implemented I guess.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard dragonfly_7456's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Moscow, USSR
    Posts
    1,092
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Personally, I would advise AGAINST textboxes without borders. Not a very good idea. Not even if it is on a dark background.
    Content Writing Service - Get custom SEO articles for 10$

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast nbaxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've used them in a grid where I defined the broders with the table that contained the form elements. The textarea broders just take up space, and in my case didn't match the "flat" appearance of the site. That could be one reason.

    Nate Baxley

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard dragonfly_7456's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Moscow, USSR
    Posts
    1,092
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, you could make a background for the text box with the border! hehehe, but why would you want that ???
    Content Writing Service - Get custom SEO articles for 10$


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •