SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast tanjilovi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    My Hosting service is killing me

    I have the site http://theclubhealth.com
    It is down for a long time ...almost one month. I tried to contact the hosting services they are not responding accordingly.
    Finally I made some changes from the Cpanel and installed the CMS again. The site was then running well.
    I changed the name servers to a free CDN name servers (Cloudeflare). After a few hours I wasn't been able to go to the site. It shows this page : http://www.theclubhealth.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi
    Then I put the names of my original name servers again. waited for a day. But result the same !
    I thought I will try to get the database from the Cpanel to get into another hosting service. But I now I cannot access to my CPanel
    Cpanel is also down. What can I do now. Not getting the site , not the database I am ruined. Any suggestions ?? Please ..
    For Technology and entertainment Rock Music Box
    For Health and Beauty

  2. #2
    Community Advisor silver trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,551
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You could install phpmyadmin or similar to access your database. You should of course make regular backups of your database so you can avoid scenarios like this.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US / UK
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by tanjilovi View Post
    I have the site http://theclubhealth.com
    It is down for a long time ...almost one month. I tried to contact the hosting services they are not responding accordingly.
    Finally I made some changes from the Cpanel and installed the CMS again. The site was then running well.
    I changed the name servers to a free CDN name servers (Cloudeflare). After a few hours I wasn't been able to go to the site. It shows this page : http://www.theclubhealth.com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi
    Then I put the names of my original name servers again. waited for a day. But result the same !
    I thought I will try to get the database from the Cpanel to get into another hosting service. But I now I cannot access to my CPanel
    Cpanel is also down. What can I do now. Not getting the site , not the database I am ruined. Any suggestions ?? Please ..
    Ask your hosting company? They are there to support you. If they don't - find one that will work harder for your business.

    Matt
    Matt Russell | CEO | WebHostingBuzz
    WebHostingBuzz.com and WebHostingBuzz.co.uk Award Winning web hosting.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast PromptSpace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maintain your own backups always. no matter what backups the webhost offers.
    Host4Geeks | Hosting powered by geeks, enhanced with a scoop of
    love and awesomeness!!

    The goal as a company is to have customer service that's not
    just great, but legendary -Henry Ford

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast tanjilovi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mdrussell View Post
    Ask your hosting company? They are there to support you. If they don't - find one that will work harder for your business.

    Matt
    My hosting company is not responding. But I was able to enter the Cpanel and I get by database imported by phpmyadmin. Then I tried to export the database to another hosting. But after uploading it shows bad gateway error. I am feeling so bad. And if try to go to my site this message appears
    The webpage at http://www.theclubhealth.com/ might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address.
    That means i am not getting my site back right. :|
    For Technology and entertainment Rock Music Box
    For Health and Beauty

  6. #6
    Community Advisor silver trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,551
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    The error tells you exactly what is wrong - you are missing the wordpress config file. You need to upload it or create a new one.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You might be able to solve two problems, with one move. Signup for a hosting account with a company that will do the web site migration for you. With their expertise and experience at hosting, they should be able to successfully migrate your site.
    Terry Myers - VPS.net Chief Evangelist
    VPS.net - Auto scaling cloud hosting with 21 datacenters
    Comcure - Imagine time machine for your website... it's here
    Contact Me: terry.myers@uk2group.com | @vpsnet | @igobyterry

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast tanjilovi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh.
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by EastCoast View Post
    The error tells you exactly what is wrong - you are missing the wordpress config file. You need to upload it or create a new one.
    I uploaded the wp-config.php. It is also not working. After the database uploaded it showed the bad gateway error 502. WHat is wrong actually ?? :|
    For Technology and entertainment Rock Music Box
    For Health and Beauty

  9. #9
    From space with love silver trophy
    SpacePhoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Poole, UK
    Posts
    5,014
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You need to unzip wordpress, it can't operate in a zip file form
    Community Team Advisor
    Forum Guidelines: Posting FAQ Signatures FAQ Self Promotion FAQ
    Help the Mods: What's Fluff? Report Fluff/Spam to a Moderator

  10. #10
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think, you missed something while connecting to your data base. Please recheck to your setting database with Cpanel, CMS, CDN then make a report what you missed or not. If still you find unsatisfied answer then you have to consult with your host provider otherwise you can solve this issue entirely.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot coloradojaguar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Southwestern Mountains
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tanjilovi, I hope that you were able to resolve your issues and everything worked out for the best in the end. Potentially losing your site's data can be beyond nerve wrecking.
    This thread reminds me of two of the most important items that should always be considered when hosting your website. Choose a host that has a good reputation and many different means of contact. There are so many, what I call, fly by night hosting companies, out there today that you just can't overall afford to not take some time and research the company where you decide to host your data. My second point is, Keep your own backups. If you get stuck with a bad host and you don't have your own copies than you end up losing your data and data generally represents time and money. Choose a reputable host that has been in the industry for some time, read reviews on the host you choose before you sign up and always keep your own current backups.
    Hosted solutions provider since 1998 - UK, Atlanta, L.A.,
    JaguarPC.com - Managed Hybrid Servers |
    Managed VPS Hosting | Dedicated Servers

  12. #12
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have the same problem with dailymarkets.info. I'm using byethost
    Last edited by Stevie D; Dec 9, 2012 at 15:36. Reason: URL de-linked

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    US / UK
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by aoafutures View Post
    I have the same problem with dailymarkets.info. I'm using byethost
    Time to choose a new hosting company?
    Matt Russell | CEO | WebHostingBuzz
    WebHostingBuzz.com and WebHostingBuzz.co.uk Award Winning web hosting.

  14. #14
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,164
    Mentioned
    264 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    It's over a month since the OP returned to this thread, so we can assume the problem is solved.

    Thread closed.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •