SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist ktown's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    478
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    does anyone know about cross-browser compatibility with flash?!?!

    hey everyone...
    this actually really irriated me
    i went to see how the site looked in opera & netscape 4.7 (just to make sure it was ok - whatever) and figured out that when i try to watch a flash demo on the net through opera & netscape it completely disregards the pause actions that i have inserted throughout the whole movie.

    doens anyone know anything about this?

    http://www.weblakes.com/ecorisk.html and then click on the NewFlashDemo link in the main content.

    look at it in all 3 browsers and you will see - it plays properly in EI 5.5 (appears to be OK in Netscape 6), but it goes super fast in opera & netscape 4.7

    in netscape 7.1 however - the button doesn't even bring up the movie itself... wahts going on? please help... i've posted this on flashkit also but noone seems to be able to hlep.

    thanks
    ~nina.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard bbolte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The Central Plains
    Posts
    3,304
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmmm, that's interesting. i would've thought that actionscript functionality would be handled by the flash plugin and have little to do with the browser. have you posted this on macromedia's forums? a search through those might reveal something.

  3. #3
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As you sure you have the same flash version of the flash plugin installed on each browser?
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist ktown's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    478
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    good idea
    thanks!
    yeah i thought it was wierd also, i mean it "should" be handled by the plug in - i wonder if it is because i use flash 5 still
    anyways, thanks

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist ktown's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    478
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OMG!!! when you update your flash player in EI - it DOESN"T automatically update the flash player for netscape OR opera OR mozilla!!! what a drag microsoft is... <sigh> but now its working !!! happy nina.
    thanks everyone.

  6. #6
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by ktown
    OMG!!! when you update your flash player in EI - it DOESN"T automatically update the flash player for netscape OR opera OR mozilla!!! what a drag microsoft is... <sigh> but now its working !!! happy nina.
    thanks everyone.
    This has nothing to do with Microsoft. It has to do with the installation method of the Flash Player. However only upgrading the chosen browser is the correct way to do it because they shouldn't assume you want them all upgraded and write files without permission first.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist ktown's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    478
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm... good to know


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •