SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Asynchronously Load Images in a Certain Div

    I'd like to load images in my #featured div after the page has finished loading.
    Thanks in advance for any help

  2. #2
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,837
    Mentioned
    73 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi @dannymichel ;

    Welcome to the forum.

    Try searching for "html page load faster image subdomain".

    Using subdomains does make a difference and especially if the image dimensions are specified because I think the browser only displays the page once and the blanks are filled in when the images are downloaded.
    Learn how to be ready for The New Move to Discourse

    How to make Make Money Now with a *NEW* look

    Be sure to congratulate Patche on earning Member of the Month for July 2014

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the warm welcome

    Quote Originally Posted by John_Betong View Post
    Hi @dannymichel ;

    Welcome to the forum.

    Try searching for "html page load faster image subdomain".

    Using subdomains does make a difference and especially if the image dimensions are specified because I think the browser only displays the page once and the blanks are filled in when the images are downloaded.
    U use MaxCDN with a subdomain

  4. #4
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,837
    Mentioned
    73 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dannymichel View Post
    Thanks for the warm welcome



    U use MaxCDN with a subdomain
    No I do not use a CDN, fortunately I run on a very fast server and load all thumbnails from a subdomain on my own server.
    Learn how to be ready for The New Move to Discourse

    How to make Make Money Now with a *NEW* look

    Be sure to congratulate Patche on earning Member of the Month for July 2014

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm sorry, that was a typo. I never use 'U' for 'you'.
    I meant to say that I do

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was thinking maybe javascript to accomplish this

  7. #7
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,837
    Mentioned
    73 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dannymichel View Post
    I was thinking maybe javascript to accomplish this
    Loading an additional JavaScript file is not necessary and will actually increase your page loading time.

    Just load your images from your own sub domain. According to all the search results I have read and also trying the examples it is very effective.
    Last edited by John_Betong; Oct 25, 2012 at 22:44. Reason: spelling: not my fortay
    Learn how to be ready for The New Move to Discourse

    How to make Make Money Now with a *NEW* look

    Be sure to congratulate Patche on earning Member of the Month for July 2014

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks. I know loading from a sub-domain(cdn) improves load time, but im specifically looking to load images once the site has loaded. With my setup on MaxCDN, I think what you're talking about isn't possible.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Mentor bronze trophy
    John_Betong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,837
    Mentioned
    73 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dannymichel View Post
    Thanks. I know loading from a sub-domain(cdn) improves load time, but im specifically looking to load images once the site has loaded. With my setup on MaxCDN, I think what you're talking about isn't possible.
    As far as I know a sub-domain has nothing to do with a CDN.

    I think the CDN caches and stores all the data from your web pages. Subsequent requests for a page on your site will be supplied from a single CDN cached file.

    May I ask the URL of your site?
    Learn how to be ready for The New Move to Discourse

    How to make Make Money Now with a *NEW* look

    Be sure to congratulate Patche on earning Member of the Month for July 2014

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Edit:

    By SpikeZ

    NOTE: Viewer discretion advised. The link is to a fashion site but as with fashion - skin is on display.
    Members of a sensitive disposition should choose not to follow the link!





    NSFW: http://varmag.com/
    Last edited by spikeZ; Oct 26, 2012 at 02:47.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •