SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Old Fogey mancroft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Flash global search and replace

    Flash global search and replace

    When developing a flash file, is it possible to do a global search and replace throught the entire file or do you have to go through each clip/button code individually?
    :

    :

  2. #2
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think you'll have to go through each clip and button individually. Could this be fixed by changing something in the first frame? What is it you are trying to change?

  3. #3
    Old Fogey mancroft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i need to change the paths as set because i need to put the file into a placeholder.

    if you include the placeholder path in the file initially, it won't work in the flash development device.
    :

    :

  4. #4
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it can be done but I am still a little fuzzy on what needs to be changed as

    i need to change the paths as set because i need to put the file into a placeholder.
    is pretty vague, could you elaborate a little more?

  5. #5
    Old Fogey mancroft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    when developing the site, i create a path say,

    _root.square1

    this allows me to test the site as i am developing it

    however, the final swf will be put into a placeholder in another .swf say, placeholder3

    therefore i need to change the

    _root.square1

    to

    _root.placeholder3.square1

    right throughout the program.

    i suppose creating a placeholder file in the directory

    where the main file is might work???
    :

    :

  6. #6
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay I see what you are saying, well normally I would use relative paths when working in movies that will be loaded into placeholders. Thus seeing the need for global search and replace. I think you are gonna have to do it manually. But by using _parent. or even _parent._parent you can keep this problem from happening.

  7. #7
    Old Fogey mancroft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your help.

    Please explain how i use _parent in conjunction with

    _root.placeholder3.square1
    :

    :

  8. #8
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Where are you referring to square1 from, if its in the movie that holds square1 its this.square1 or in a movieclip _parent.square1. Am I missing how you are trying to use this.

  9. #9
    Old Fogey mancroft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so that instead of using

    _root.placeholder3.square1

    ie root of placeholder.swf which holds an empty movie clip called placeholder3 which holds mysquares.swf which contains a movieclip called square1

    i use

    _parent.square1

    ????
    :

    :

  10. #10
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you are referring to square1 from within mysquares.swf yes use this.square1 instead of _root.placeholder3.square1 or if you are inside of a movieclip within mysquares.swf _parent.square1

    If you are referring to square1 from within
    placeholder.swf then you already know the path since you used createEmptyMovieCLip to create placeholder3.

  11. #11
    Old Fogey mancroft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by freddydoesphp
    If you are referring to square1 from within mysquares.swf yes use this.square1 instead of _root.placeholder3.square1 or if you are inside of a movieclip within mysquares.swf _parent.square1

    THIS I NOW UNDERSTAND

    If you are referring to square1 from within
    placeholder.swf then you already know the path since you used createEmptyMovieCLip to create placeholder3.


    THIS I DON'T UNDERSTAND because i created the empty movie clip manually, not with createEmptyMovieCLip.

    Please gimme a clue!
    :

    :

  12. #12
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'll give a try.

    Since when you are viewing mysquares.swf through placeholder.swf, you already know the name of the blank movieclip that will hold mysqaures.swf. So you can code inside of placeholder.swf as such like _root.placeholder3.square1, but in mysquares.swf this movie does not know what placeholder is going to be called, so you should use relative paths, its as simple as that.

  13. #13
    Old Fogey mancroft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you very much.

    :

    :


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •