SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 101 to 122 of 122
  1. #101
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    san diego
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Why not just do it the easy way?

    Well I've learned that there is a much easier way to do this. Use a program called html2jpg blackbox. It's a command line app that generates thumbs from URLs.. It will even generate a thumb 100px X 500px long with the full content of the website. (If you tell it to.) Good stuff, worth the price if you're serious.

    Check it out here: http://www.html2jpg.com/bb_description.htm

  2. #102
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    557
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    as per my posts in the php forum this is easy to do for free, though admittedly the html2jpg does look less hassle.

    Edit:


    couldn't see a *nix version

  3. #103
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    howdy
    this script works ok and will capture the entire window widthout any toolbar
    this works only on IE

    Set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
    Set Args = WScript.Arguments
    Return = WshShell.Run("iexplore -k www.google.com", 3)
    WshShell.AppActivate "Internet Explorer"
    WScript.Sleep 8000

    WshShell.Run("C:\HQScreen.exe 1 PNG 8 picture C:\")
    WScript.Sleep 1000
    WshShell.SendKeys "%{F4}"

    also you have to give the apache permision to run the script
    so here is the settings u have to do :
    Start>Run>services.msc
    Right click "Apache...", select properties.
    Click on the "LOG ON" tab
    Check the box "Allow this service to interact with desktop"
    Click OK
    Restart Apache

    and php will execute any script from exec command.

    Have fun!

  4. #104
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    As concerned to taking web page snapshot, I found a PHP class at http://phpclasses.php-start.de/browse/package/918.html . This class uses a application named Hypersnap to capture the web page snapshot.This class is simple and opens the desired url in the browser window and takes snapshot of the page by calling Hyperspan application. It also uses the gd image library to scale the captured image.

    When i run the code, the code did the work , but the snapshot of the page was entirely black. The image was just black.

    If you have a copy of the class and and checked the code plz suggest me why the snapped image was just black and nothing else.

    deven_pgmr
    Last edited by deven_pgmr; Jun 8, 2005 at 04:08.

  5. #105
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    *bump one more time.

    So, I just read the whole thread and got some interesting ideas. Have few questions though:

    - Download HQscreen.exe 1.0.8 version.
    - Got the little wsh script. (I have no clue how to script in windows so please bare with me) What should file extension be when I save it?
    - Can I place this on my linux web hosting? Would it work?

    I know some of these might be stupid questions...but I need to figure out how this works.

  6. #106
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i cant find where to download HQScreen!!!
    please help

  7. #107
    SitePoint Enthusiast OReason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven, The Netherlands
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://www.howiesfunware.com/

    if you've tried to google it you would have found it yourself

  8. #108
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i googled it and got the site but the installer doesnt work on my computer...
    is there anyway you can just download the one file?

    EDIT: Does anyone have the old version?
    if you do please send it to crs992@cox.net
    thanks
    there is a newer version without the file

  9. #109
    SitePoint Zealot _theworks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did anyone ever consider using an existing service and just "borrowing" their screenshots? ie. scraping them from alexa... would be a lot easier and less time consuming..

  10. #110
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    that's a great idea, but the site of alexa seems kind of slow to me...

  11. #111
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophy
    Rubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, England
    Posts
    2,191
    Mentioned
    71 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    There is a way to do it using Imagemagick ( may have already been posted but I have not read though the whole thread ).
    I am not at home at the moment but if anyone is interested I will look it up again when I get home.

    Although saying that I could not get it to work !

  12. #112
    SitePoint Addict Quaint's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    219
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quite frankly, this IS possible.. There are sites out there that allow you to preview a site on numerous different OSs/Browsers right? They have to simulate this as well, so it just HAS to be possible! :P

    Quaint Tech
    - Blog on web development and web technology.

  13. #113
    SitePoint Zealot _theworks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rubble
    There is a way to do it using Imagemagick
    Really? im interested would you mind elaborating on that one i would love to know how to do this with the MagickWand API

  14. #114
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i would like to know also

  15. #115
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    268
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  16. #116
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophy
    Rubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, England
    Posts
    2,191
    Mentioned
    71 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    This is the info I found but as said I could not get it to work :

    http://studio.imagemagick.org/discus...ht=screen+shot

  17. #117
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try this and see if it works... [source]

    Code:
    wget -x -p http://webpage.of.interest/index.html
    cd webpage.of.interest
    convert index.html jpgindex.jpg

  18. #118
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    a script came with my download of imagemagick called xsnap that says it will take a snapshot...it might work with a web site but here is the script http://computing.ee.ethz.ch/sepp/ima.../scripts/xsnap
    the problem is that i dont know how to make the script work...i havent triend it yet...really i dont know how to use imagemagick at all
    also will this work on a webhost?

  19. #119
    SitePoint Mentor silver trophy
    Rubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cambridge, England
    Posts
    2,191
    Mentioned
    71 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    The imagemagick forum can be a bit stingy giving out information but you can also take a screen shoot of a windows page; so you could write a bit of code to open a window on clicking a link which would open the page and take a screen shoot of the page but you need an "X Server" what ever that is !
    Searching the Imagemagick forum will also explain how this works.

  20. #120
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok thanks alot...
    i dont know what an x server is either
    haha

    EDIT: JUST FOUND 2 DEFINITIONS FROM GOOGLE
    This is the program that runs on the user side of the X Window system. This program draws the windows and performs all tasks required to draw on the screen and accept user input.

    In computing, the X Window System (commonly X11 or X) is a windowing system for bitmap displays. It is the standard toolkit and protocol to build graphical user interfaces on Unix, Unix-like operating systems and OpenVMS, and is available for almost all modern operating systems.

    the google link is here - http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...ition&ct=title

    hope this helps

  21. #121
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    246
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not sure if any use, but here is someone that has done it:

    http://blog.joshuaeichorn.com/archiv...te-thumbnails/

    And here is a great example of a site using his code:

    http://www.w3csites.com/

    - Vince

  22. #122
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this might be asking for alot...but does anyone have a script that will run on a normal server such as apache that will take a screen shot of a web page?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •