SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    620
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Which version of php to use ??

    On my last computer (running win98) I used php-4.2.1-win32 and didnt have any problems beyond having to install and uninstall apache a couple of times before it would work.

    Now I consider myself new to computers and even newer to php and I'm now running XP and all I want is to host a site and use my computer for testing,learning about security and writing secure scripts etc.My preference would be to host a site on my own computer.

    Based on the above what would you guru's recommend:

    (CGI binary plus server API versions for Apache, Apache2 (experimental), ISAPI, NSAPI, Servlet and Pi3Web. MySQL support built-in, many extensions included, packaged as zip)

    OR:

    CGI only, MySQL support built-in, packaged as Windows installer to install and configure PHP, and automatically configure IIS, PWS and Xitami, with manual configuration for other servers. N.B. no external extensions included)

    I will be using:
    MySql-3.23.54win /Apache_1.3.27_win32x86_no_src

    Also, at the end of the description for each application there is: md5: a64138b56c49df8a2b4ff099a6ee0611
    Whats that about ??

    Thanks
    Last edited by Motivated; Dec 30, 2002 at 00:41.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Best City 2002 - Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There really aren't many things which could justify using php as cgi executable. What you need to do is a get a 4.3 zip package but install php as module for apache. Apache1 vs apach2 is almost a religous war - some say apache2 is not ready for mainstream and others say apache1 doesn't have any of the 'new cool features'. If you don't know what those 'new cool features' are, stick with apache 1.
    Don't push me.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    620
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So are you saying get the first package which is about 5,000kb more than the second.

    And as I cant remember, I'm guessing you are given the option to install as module for apache ??

    Whats the md5 for ??

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru GamerZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    4.3.0 with Apache 1.3.27

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Best City 2002 - Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    >>So are you saying get the first package which is about 5,000kb more than the second.
    Yep. Extra 5megs will be well worth it in the end.

    >>I'm guessing you are given the option to install as module for apache ??
    Yes, that big package has both module and cgi 'versions' (99.9% sure. Can any windows admin confirm that for 4.3?)

    >>Whats the md5 for ??
    Make sure you got the right file. Don't worry about it for now.
    Don't push me.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    620
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks dude

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    466
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could try one of firepage's distros from http://www.firepages.com.au which are considered very good for XP - includes php-gtk too

    As to the MD5 return - that is basically a weird encryption technique that reduces any word/file/folder to a 32 character string. You would use the string to test whether the file you downloaded had been corrupted at all in transit.
    teckis - that's news to me.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    620
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for that.

    I was trying to find out if there was any advantage to having GTK for what I want to do. It would appear it is along the lines of phpMyAdmin.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict itsource's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    369
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Make sure you got the right file.
    You would use the string to test whether the file you downloaded had been corrupted at all in transit
    How can I use this string to test?
    I live in Thailand. My English grammar not well.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    620
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    One package looks like the actual zipped php and the other looks like its the installer but it says cgi only.

    Anyone want to clarify.
    Why they cant make things clear for us none guru's is beyond me.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy someonewhois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had phpDev 4, however I upgraded from PHP 4.0.6 to PHP 4.2.3.

  12. #12
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by itsource
    How can I use this string to test?
    You have to create the md5 hash of the file. You don't need to do this. If you can't unzip the file or run the installer (if that's what you're using) you know there's a problem

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •