SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    JQuery not showing up on post pages

    Hi,

    I believe I am using the JQuery cycle plugin on my blog. I am not certain as the template I am using was a free template that I modified.

    I can't get the featured content slider to show up on my post pages.

    On my index page http://www.still-blushful.com you can see the content slider working perfectly (on the top of the page). But then on post pages it doesn't show up as you can see here: http://www.still-blushful.com/2012/1...macs-moth.html

    I can't figure out why. I want the content slider to show up on every page, including posts. It shows up fine on the category pages but not on any posts.

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,173
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Hi sassypie. Welcome to the forums.

    Those two pages are nothing alike—the one with the slider built with divs and the other (where the slider is missing) on tables.

    The one that's not working seems to lack the jQuery script that makes it work, but that script also references a div called "myGallery" that doesn't exist on the table page either.

    What code do you see on the table-based page? You need to have the picture files, div containers and so in on the page for the script to be able to act on them.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm using a template so the code is all on one xml page. The pages should all have the same script as it's just a blogger template. I've uploaded the template as a text file, hopefully it can help someone see if there is a coding error I haven't noticed.

    The text file is here:

    https://www.box.com/files#/files/0/f/0/1/f_3474328022

    Thanks for the welcome

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is the template I used if this helps. I modified it for my own design/layout:

    http://btemplates.com/2010/blogger-template-samanta/

  5. #5
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,173
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sassypie View Post
    It requires a log in, which I don't have.

    I modified it for my own design/layout
    How did the second page end up all in tables? that's a big backwards step.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry I didn't realise it required a login. I've uploaded it here:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?vm6mpwqka2avucl

    I modified the top area with tables as it is the only way I could get the images to stay where required.

    Both pages have the exact same template, which is saved as a text file above. So I can't work out why it will work on one page but not the others.

  7. #7
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,173
    Mentioned
    454 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    The original template seems to have a bunch of divs containing the images and text, all wrapped in a div with an id of "myGallery". The script is written to target that div with that id. On your table page, there is a cell, but all of those divs and images are not there. Cas you paste all of that in to the table page?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I finally worked out the problem. There was an exception code which made the coding for the main page and the posts different. It must have been in the template and I didn't notice. Thanks for the suggestions you gave me, that's why I looked at the code in that spot.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •