SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict ketting00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Looking for web hosting for PHP, Node.js and websocket connection

    Hi everyone,

    Can anyone suggest a web hosting service that allows to host PHP and Node.js together. Also, I want to enable websocket connection to bridge communications between my PHP aap and Node.js app. I've tried services like Appfog and Heroku but they do not support websocket connection.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,088
    Mentioned
    255 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    I don't know if this is of any help to you:

    http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/show...=1#post5030713
    Take plenty of exercise walk round and round the garden
    or
    sign up now for the Isle of Jura 10K or Half Marathon!

  3. #3
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Windows Azure supports both with web sockets.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict ketting00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys,

    The information is what I need. But I don't really understand RAM usage on web server. How much RAM that I need. Do 32MB sufficient? My budget is very tight at start.

  5. #5
    Community Advisor silver trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,547
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    32mb is not sufficient. I'm not sure you can even buy virtual servers with that low an amount of memory.

  6. #6
    Foozle Reducer ServerStorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Burlington, Canada
    Posts
    2,699
    Mentioned
    89 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ketting00 View Post
    Thanks guys,

    The information is what I need. But I don't really understand RAM usage on web server. How much RAM that I need. Do 32MB sufficient? My budget is very tight at start.
    Did you mean 32Gb maybe? It that is the case then depending on your application and database it may be enough.
    ictus==""

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict ketting00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ServerStorm View Post
    Did you mean 32Gb maybe? It that is the case then depending on your application and database it may be enough.
    No, I mean 32mb. It's the minimal RAM dotcloud offers. Look at their website: https://www.dotcloud.com/pricing.html

    If I tried 512MB for my Node.js, PHP and MySQL application each I have to pay $207.36 a month. That's too expensive for uncertain investment. I need to make sure that my website caught attention before I jump into that scale of investment.

    I doubt that is 32MB or maybe 64MB sufficient to keep my apps run smoothly.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is why I like Windows Azure. You pay for only what you use. An extra small VM instance (1GHz CPU, 768MB RAM), get two of them (for redundancy), with 25 GBs of storage and 25 GB of bandwidth, is only $25/m. That is assuming you use 25 GBs of storage and of bandwidth. When the time comes that you have to expand the resources you need, just a turn of the dial.

    See: http://www.windowsazure.com/en-us/pricing/calculator/
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict ketting00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks and what about *Requires $500 minimum. Can I just pay $300 instead.

  10. #10
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The $500 minimum is for the 6-month and 12-month plans. Not for the "pay-as-you-go" plan.

    https://www.windowsazure.com/en-us/p...chase-options/
    Pay-as-You-Go

    The Pay-as-You-Go pricing option is extremely flexible. It involves no up-front costs and no long-term commitment. You pay only for the resources that you use each month.


    Cloud Services and Virtual Machines are charged per hour of usage. Storage, SQL Database, Bandwidth, Caching, and Content Delivery Network (CDN) features are charged per gigabyte used. Some resources are charged per transaction.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  11. #11
    Community Advisor silver trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,547
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    There are plenty other vps options which will run what you want. You might get away with a bare minimum of 128mb if you have minimal traffic and only light database activity and avoid apache for a lower memory web server such as nginx. 64 would only be sufficient to run a socket server only. There are providers that will do these sort of low end vps for $10 a month.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •