SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    809
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Help with web site design!

    Hello,

    I'm having some difficulties optimizing a certain part of my web site for Internet Explorer... it looks perfect in Chrome.

    I've tried everything to solve it but I'm stuck and to the point where I'm asking for help.

    Everything looks perfect on the home page, however any other pages where a skyscraper ad appears on the right.. it looks stretched out in IE.

    This page as the example... http://www.vancouverprofile.com/contactus/

    I'm not doing anything different on those pages but apparently I am since the ad space is very stretched out.. only in IE!!

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,219
    Mentioned
    457 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    From a quick look, I can't see the issue, but there are lots of validation errors on the page, so it would be worth addressing them and seeing if that fixes the issue:

    http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=ht...Inline&group=0

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    809
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    From a quick look, I can't see the issue, but there are lots of validation errors on the page, so it would be worth addressing them and seeing if that fixes the issue:

    http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=ht...Inline&group=0
    Thanks! I will fix all those errors. Most of them are alt tags, etc.

    I have attached a picture of the extra space I'm seeing when using IE.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    help.jpg

  4. #4
    #titanic {float:none} silver trophy
    molona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    from Madrid to Heaven
    Posts
    8,250
    Mentioned
    240 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    The errors noramlly affect how the page is viwed, even if those errors are mainly just alt attributes (no, alt is not a tag )

    But for the list I can read, it would be much more efficent to fix the errors first and then return here if the page is still giving you problems.

  5. #5
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,219
    Mentioned
    457 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by molona View Post
    it would be much more efficent to fix the errors first and then return here if the page is still giving you problems.
    Yes, as molona says, that was the point of mentioning the errors. Some of the errors involved tags not being closed properly, which can often cause problems like what's being described.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    809
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    Yes, as molona says, that was the point of mentioning the errors. Some of the errors involved tags not being closed properly, which can often cause problems like what's being described.
    Fixed the issue! It was a simple coding error on my part... nothing to do with the validation errors... I didn't pay any attention to those.

    Thanks for all your help guys... it helped me focus on my code and get to the bottom of it. As long as it looks good in every browser, I'm happy.

  7. #7
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,219
    Mentioned
    457 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Darin View Post
    It was a simple coding error on my part... nothing to do with the validation errors...
    Heh heh, validation is often the easiest way to pick up on coding errors. Glad you sorted it, anyhow.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If your website does not perform on Internet Explorer It may be due to the website not being cross browser compatible. Hence, one should use a liquid layout as it will create a website which is cross browser compatible. If you are using a liquid layout then your website will fit all browsers without any problem.

  9. #9
    Life is not a malfunction gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    TechnoBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argyll, Scotland
    Posts
    6,239
    Mentioned
    266 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by henrywinsett View Post
    If your website does not perform on Internet Explorer It may be due to the website not being cross browser compatible. Hence, one should use a liquid layout as it will create a website which is cross browser compatible. If you are using a liquid layout then your website will fit all browsers without any problem.
    Sorry, but that's just nonsense. The type of layout you use - fixed, elastic, liquid or whatever - will have no effect whatsoever on cross-browser compatibility. It will make a difference to the ability of different devices to display your site, but that is a different subject.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    809
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by henrywinsett View Post
    If your website does not perform on Internet Explorer It may be due to the website not being cross browser compatible. Hence, one should use a liquid layout as it will create a website which is cross browser compatible. If you are using a liquid layout then your website will fit all browsers without any problem.
    The actual problem was weird because there was an issue that was just a colspan="2" when it should have been colspan="3"... so the error was mine and Internet Explorer was displaying the error of my ways, while Google Chrome was displaying it exactly how I had intended it but the error wasn't showing the same as it was in IE... pretty weird as I would think such a mistake would look wrong on any browser. I've noticed twice now with coding errors I made that Google Chrome always displays it how I actually want it to look even though IE will show me the error and look wrong.

    Thanks all!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •