SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Co Durham UK
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    From Joomla to Wordpress.

    Hi,
    Im about to start on a project concerning a site already using Joomla.
    What we are going to do is replace Joomla with WP.
    The client needs the existing site live until the WP site is ready. Ill be working with WP on the clients server until then.

    My question is:
    What is the correct procedure now and when WP is ready regarding the public.html directory?
    Ive had similar problems in the past when Ive tried to put an existing WP site into the public.html directory and the URL has still got 'wordpress' as part of the address.

    Has anyone any advice regarding this issue?

    Thank you,
    Alan.

  2. #2
    padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    4,095
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Hi Alan,

    It's possible to install Joomla and Wordpress in separate directories, but I think you may find it easier keeping the sites completely separate(maybe a subdomain new.mysite.com) until you're ready to switch them over.
    Search the wordpress codex on how install at a sub-directory.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dodgeinthshed View Post
    Ive had similar problems in the past when Ive tried to put an existing WP site into the public.html directory and the URL has still got 'wordpress' as part of the address.
    Alan, what exactly do you mean that 'wordpress' is part of the address? Did you originally put it in root/wordpress (http://www.domain.com/wordpress) and then try moving it to root (http://www.domain.com) or are you talking about something else?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Co Durham UK
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pamela1991 View Post
    Alan, what exactly do you mean that 'wordpress' is part of the address? Did you originally put it in root/wordpress (http://www.domain.com/wordpress) and then try moving it to root (http://www.domain.com) or are you talking about something else?
    Hi Pamela.
    Yeah thats exactly what I did ( put it in root/wordpress (http://www.domain.com/wordpress) until the site was live as there was an existing site on the same server. But when I tried to have the WP site as the root domain I didnt know how to get rid of 'wordpress' in the url.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dodgeinthshed View Post
    Hi Pamela.
    Yeah thats exactly what I did ( put it in root/wordpress (http://www.domain.com/wordpress) until the site was live as there was an existing site on the same server. But when I tried to have the WP site as the root domain I didnt know how to get rid of 'wordpress' in the url.
    Alan, simply go to Settings -> General. http://www.domain.com/wp-admin/options-general.php

    Then from there change both the WordPress Address (URL), and the Site Address (URL) to simply http://www.domain.com.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Co Durham UK
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pamela1991 View Post
    Alan, simply go to Settings -> General. http://www.domain.com/wp-admin/options-general.php

    Then from there change both the WordPress Address (URL), and the Site Address (URL) to simply http://www.domain.com.
    Thanks for that Pamela, Ill try it. Ill come back if I have anymore probs.
    Alan.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Co Durham UK
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pamela,
    I did what you said.
    The Home page is fine but I got this 404 error message on the next page:
    Not Found

    The requested URL /training/ was not found on this server.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Co Durham UK
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ive got it sussed !
    I followed the instructions here:
    http://codex.wordpress.org/Changing_The_Site_URL.
    Thanks for your interest and help anyway Pamela.
    Alan.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •